Transparency

The relationships between industry and healthcare professionals, or HCPs, and healthcare organizations, or HCOs, provide invaluable benefits to the advancement of modern medicine. As global healthcare has evolved, public interest in the nature of these relationships has grown along with public interest in understanding whether any potential conflicts of interest may arise as well. In response, a worldwide trend has been launched among various countries and industry groups to establish requirements for companies to disclose transfers of value made to HCPs and HCOs.

Bristol-Myers Squibb believes in fostering an open environment to help build a foundation of trust, credibility, and respect among our colleagues, healthcare providers, patients, stockholders, and the public. Bristol-Myers Squibb further believes that interactions with individuals and institutions in the healthcare delivery system should take place in an open, honest, and ethical manner. These interactions should be based on the pursuit of objective science and the communication of scientifically accurate information, and relate to matters that are important to healthcare providers and patients.

Our company is committed to working in partnership with others in a way which is fully compliant with Innovative Medicines Canada Code of Ethical Practices as well as the Voluntary Framework on Disclosure of Payments to Health Care Professionals and Health Care Organizations. We support financial disclosure laws and codes as an extension of our own efforts to increase public awareness of the positive collaboration between industry and HCPs/HCOs.

 Please use the links below for further information:

 

Innovative Medicines Canada Code of Ethics

 

Frequently Asked Questions about Innovative Medicines Canada Voluntary Framework

What is Innovative Medicines Canada?

Innovative Medicines Canada represents more than 50 companies all of whom are revolutionizing healthcare through the discovery and development of new medicines and vaccines. Innovative Medicines Canada and its members have set a high standard for ethical, transparent and open practices that respect the relationships between our member company employees, the life sciences sector, healthcare professionals and the Canadian public.

What are the specifics of the Innovative Medicines Canada Voluntary Framework?

Innovative Medicines Canada has developed a Voluntary Framework on Disclosure of Payments made to healthcare professionals/organizations in exchange for services and to fund charitable, educational, and scientific activities.

Member companies who opt to disclose payments will record and report their respective payments to healthcare professionals/organizations. Those implementing the Voluntary Framework will start to capture payment data in 2016 and begin disclosure in 2017.

Innovative Medicines Canada Voluntary Framework on Disclosure or Payments

Why is there a need for a Voluntary Framework?

By creating greater transparency around industry’s collaborations and partnerships with HCPs/HCOs, the Framework aims to strengthen the legitimate relationship between pharmaceutical companies and healthcare professionals by making these better understood by patients and other stakeholders.

Why do we work with Healthcare Professionals?

Healthcare professionals and pharmaceutical companies regularly work together, from early scientific research and clinical trial programmes to the use of medicines in the patient pathway. As an integral part of the medicines development and ongoing clinical review process, it is entirely appropriate that fees be paid to healthcare professionals to reimburse them for their time and expertise.

Bristol-Myers Squibb engages Consultants for services required to fill a legitimate business or scientific need of the company. They are used where requisite resources or expertise may not be available from other sources and have not otherwise been provided.

Patients benefit from such collaboration through the continued development and use of innovative treatments and guidance that can improve and extend life.

What is the definition of healthcare professional in the context of the Innovative Medicines Canada Voluntary Framework?

The term Health Care Professional means a person who by education, training, certification, or licensure is qualified to and is engaged in providing health care. This can include any of the following: an individual who is currently practicing medicine, nursing, or dispensing medicines in Canada or any other person who, in the course of his or her professional activities, may prescribe, recommend or administer a prescription medicine or be involved in related treatment or disease management.

What is considered a Transfer of Value under the Framework?

Each member company must disclose any transfers of value in aggregate listed below that it makes to or for the benefit of an HCP or HCO in Canada. Direct and indirect transfers of value, whether in cash, in kind or otherwise, made, whether for promotional purposes or otherwise, in connection with the development and sale of prescription-only Medicinal Products exclusively for human use are reportable.

What are direct transfers of value?

These are transfers that are made directly by a Member Company for the benefit of a Recipient.

What are indirect transfers of value?

These refer to transfers that are made on behalf of a Member Company for the benefit of a Recipient, or transfers of value made through an intermediate and where the Member Company knows or can identify the HCP/HCO that will benefit from the Transfer of Value.

A direct or indirect payment to a Canadian HCP payment is defined as:

  • A payment to the HCP as an individual

  • A payment to an HCP’s incorporated name or business name for services rendered by that HCP

  • A payment indirectly to the HCP through a third party intermediary

  • A payment made to a Health Care Organization (HCO) for services rendered by an HCP associated with or employed by the HCO

Which activities would be reported by companies?

The following activities would be reported by companies in aggregate for direct or indirect payments of transfer of values made to healthcare professionals for services:

  • Speaker fees, honoraria, consultations, advisory boards, etc.

  • Grants, donations, sponsorships

  • Sponsorship of healthcare professional travel

What Transfers of Value are excluded from the Voluntary Framework?

  • Funding to patient groups

  • Clinical trials

  • Meals and refreshments

  • Market research (double blind studies)

  • Samples

  • Payments to Canadian healthcare professionals made by a company’s international affiliates

What information about healthcare professionals will be reported and published?

Member companies who choose to implement the Framework will record and disclose payments in aggregate fashion. Canadian privacy law protects individual doctors’ information. In order to proceed in full compliance with Canadian privacy requirements, specific amounts will not be associated with individual recipients, and recipients’ names will not be published.

 

Disclosure Reports

Disclosure Report

Bristol-Myers Squibb has prepared the report for publication in accordance with the Innovative Medicines Canada Voluntary Framework.

Transparence

Les liens entre l’industrie et les professionnels de la santé et les organismes de soins de santé sont une source de bienfaits inestimables pour l’avancement de la médecine moderne. Avec l’évolution des soins de santé dans le monde, le public s’intéresse de plus en plus à la nature de ces liens et cherche à comprendre les risques de conflits d’intérêts. En réaction, une tendance mondiale, observée dans divers pays et groupes de l’industrie, veut que l’on impose aux entreprises des exigences quant à la divulgation des transferts de valeur aux professionnels de la santé et aux organismes de soins de santé.

Bristol-Myers Squibb préconise l’adoption d’un milieu ouvert afin d’aider à établir des bases de confiance, de crédibilité et de respect parmi nos collègues, les fournisseurs de soins de santé, les patients, les actionnaires et le public. Bristol-Myers Squibb croit en outre que les interactions avec les individus et les établissements du système de prestation des soins de santé doivent se dérouler de manière ouverte, honnête et éthique. Ces interactions devraient être fondées sur le respect de la science objective et la communication de données exactes sur le plan scientifique, et tenir compte des questions importantes pour les fournisseurs de soins de santé et les patients.

Notre entreprise est déterminée à travailler en partenariat avec les autres intervenants en toute conformité avec le Code d’éthique de Médicaments novateurs Canada, ainsi que le Cadre volontaire de divulgation des paiements aux professionnels de la santé et aux organismes de soins de santé. Nous appuyons les lois et codes de divulgation de renseignements financiers en tant que prolongement de nos efforts de sensibilisation du public à la collaboration positive entre l’industrie et les professionnels de la santé/organismes de soins de santé.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez suivre les liens qui suivent :

 

Code d’éthique de Médicaments novateurs Canada

 

Foire aux questions sur le Cadre volontaire de Médicaments novateurs Canada

Qu’est-ce que Médicaments novateurs Canada?

Médicaments novateurs Canada représente plus de 50 compagnies, qui sont toutes en voie de révolutionner les soins de santé grâce à la découverte et au développement de nouveaux médicaments et vaccins. Médicaments novateurs Canada et ses membres ont établi des normes élevées, transparentes et ouvertes en matière d’éthique, qui respectent les relations entre les employés de nos compagnies membres, le secteur des sciences de la vie, les professionnels de la santé et la population canadienne.

Quelles sont les dispositions du Cadre volontaire de Médicaments novateurs Canada?

Médicaments novateurs Canada a élaboré un Cadre volontaire de divulgation des paiements aux professionnels de la santé et aux organismes de soins de santé en échange de services et pour le financement d’activités scientifiques, de bienfaisance et de formation.

Les compagnies membres qui optent pour la divulgation des paiements consignent et déclarent leurs paiements respectifs aux professionnels de la santé et aux organismes de soins de santé. Celles qui adoptent le Cadre volontaire commenceront à saisir les données relatives aux paiements en 2016 et à les divulguer en 2017.

Cadre volontaire de divulgation des paiements de Médicaments novateurs Canada

En quoi le Cadre volontaire est-il nécessaire?

En créant plus de transparence dans les collaborations et partenariats de l’industrie avec les professionnels de la santé/organismes de soins de santé, le Cadre vise à consolider les liens légitimes entre les compagnies pharmaceutiques et les professionnels de la santé en faisant en sorte qu’ils soient mieux compris des patients et autres parties prenantes.

Pourquoi travaillons-nous avec les professionnels de la santé?

Les professionnels de la santé et les compagnies pharmaceutiques travaillent régulièrement ensemble, tant aux programmes initiaux de recherche scientifique et d’essais cliniques qu’à l’utilisation des médicaments sur le parcours des soins du patient. Parce qu’elles font partie intégrante du processus de mise au point de médicaments et d’examen clinique continu, les sommes versées aux professionnels de la santé en contrepartie de leur temps et de leur expertise sont pleinement justifiées.

Bristol-Myers Squibb retient les services des consultants dont elle a besoin pour répondre à un besoin commercial ou scientifique légitime de l’entreprise. Elle fait appel à eux lorsque les ressources ou l’expertise qui s’imposent ne sont pas nécessairement offertes par d’autres sources ou disponibles autrement.

Les patients tirent profit de cette collaboration grâce au développement continu et à l’utilisation de traitements et de conseils innovateurs, susceptibles d’améliorer et de prolonger la vie.

Quelle est la définition de « professionnel de la santé » dans le contexte du Cadre volontaire de Médicaments novateurs Canada?

L’expression « professionnel de la santé » désigne une personne qui, de par ses études, sa formation, son accréditation ou son permis d’exercice, est qualifiée et active en prestation de soins de santé. Il peut s’agir de quiconque exerce actuellement la médecine, prodigue des soins infirmiers ou distribue des médicaments au Canada, ou, dans le cadre de ses activités professionnelles, prescrit, recommande ou administre un médicament d’ordonnance ou participe au traitement ou à la prise en charge de la maladie en cause.

Qu’est-ce que le Cadre considère comme un transfert de valeur?

Chaque compagnie membre doit divulguer l’intégralité de tout transfert de valeur énuméré plus bas qu’il fait à un professionnel de la santé ou à un organisme de soins de santé au Canada, ou en sa faveur. Doivent être déclarés : les transferts de valeur directs et indirects, qu’ils soient en espèces, en nature ou sous une autre forme, effectués à des fins promotionnelles ou autres, relativement au développement et à la vente de médicaments délivrés sur ordonnance seulement, réservés à un usage humain.

Que sont des transferts de valeur directs?

Ce sont des transferts effectués directement par une compagnie membre en faveur d’un bénéficiaire.

Que sont des transferts de valeur indirects?

Ce sont des transferts effectués au nom d’une compagnie membre en faveur d’un bénéficiaire, ou des transferts de valeur effectués par un intermédiaire et dont la compagnie membre connaît le professionnel de la santé/organisme de soins de santé bénéficiaire.

Un paiement direct ou indirect à un professionnel de la santé du Canada se définit comme suit :

  • Un paiement à un professionnel de la santé à titre individuel

  • Un paiement à la raison sociale ou au nom commercial d’un professionnel de la santé pour des services rendus par ce dernier

  • Un paiement indirect à un professionnel de la santé par un tiers intermédiaire

  • Un paiement à un organisme de soins de santé pour des services rendus par un professionnel de la santé associé à l’organisme de soins de santé ou employé de l’organisme de soins de santé

Quelles activités les compagnies déclareront-elles?

Les activités suivantes seraient intégralement déclarées par les compagnies pour des paiements de transferts de valeur directs ou indirects effectués aux professionnels de la santé en contrepartie de services :

  • Honoraires de conférenciers, honoraires professionnels, consultations, comités consultatifs, etc.

  • Bourses ou subventions, dons, commandites

  • Commandite de déplacement d’un professionnel de la santé

Quels sont les transferts de valeur exclus du Cadre volontaire?

  • Financement de groupes de patients

  • Essais cliniques

  • Repas et rafraîchissements

  • Études de marché (à double insu)

  • Échantillons

  • Paiements effectués à des professionnels de la santé du Canada par une filiale internationale de la compagnie

Quels seront les renseignements déclarés et publiés sur les professionnels de la santé?

Toutes les données seront publiées sous forme globale; les montants spécifiques ne seront pas associés aux destinataires individuels pas plus que les noms des récipiendaires ne seront divulgués sans consentement. Nous procédons en toute conformité aux exigences canadiennes en matière de confidentialité.

 

Rapport de divulgation

Rapport de Divulgation

Bristol-Myers Squibb a rédigé le rapport à publier conformément au Cadre volontaire de Médicaments novateurs Canada.