Our Key Products




Download the Product Monograph

Click here for Sprycel® and PAH - Public communication

Click here for Important Safety Information on BCR-ABL Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors

This leaflet is part III of a three-part "Product Monograph" published when SPRYCEL was approved for sale in Canada and is designed specifically for Consumers. This leaflet is a summary and will not tell you everything about SPRYCEL. Contact your doctor or pharmacist if you have any questions about the drug.


About this medication

What the medication is used for:

SPRYCEL (dasatinib) is used to treat adults who have

  • newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome positive (Ph+) chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) in chronic phase
  • Ph+ CML who are no longer benefiting from other available therapies for CML, including imatininb mesylate (Gleevec®).
  • a particular form of Ph+ acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL)

What it does:

Chronic myeloid leukemia or CML is one form of leukemia. In CML, myeloid white blood cells multiply in an uncontrolled manner. It may take years for CML to progress because it is a slow-growing or chronic cancer. There are three phases of CML: chronic phase, accelerated phase, and blast crisis phase. As CML progresses, patients advance through these phases.

Ph+ acute lymphoblastic leukemia or Ph+ ALL is another form of leukemia. Acute leukemias progress faster than chronic leukemias. In Ph+ ALL, lymphoblastic white blood cells multiply in an uncontrolled manner.

The active ingredient of SPRYCEL is dasatinib. Dasatinib acts by inhibiting the activity of proteins within the leukemia cells of patients with CML. These proteins are responsible for the uncontrolled growth of the leukemia cells.

When it should not be used:

  • If you have a history of allergic reactions to dasatinib or to any other ingredients in SPRYCEL (See the “What the important non-medicinal ingredients are” section of this leaflet for a complete list of ingredients in SPRYCEL). Tell your healthcare provider if you think you have had an allergic reaction to any of these ingredients.
  • Do not breast-feed if you are taking SPRYCEL

SPRYCEL should not be used in children under two years of age.

What the medicinal ingredient is:

The active ingredient of SPRYCEL is dasatinib.

What the important nonmedicinal ingredients are:

Croscarmellose sodium, hydroxypropyl cellulose, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate and microcrystalline cellulose. The tablet coating consists of hypromellose, titanium dioxide, and polyethylene glycol.

What dosage forms it comes in:

SPRYCEL (dasatinib) is available in film coated tablets for oral administration in strengths 20, 50, 70, 80, 100 and 140 mg dasatinib (as monohydrate).

Warnings & Precautions

Serious Warnings and Precautions

SPRYCEL should be given under the supervision of a doctor experienced in the use of anti-cancer drugs. Serious and common side effects with SPRYCEL include:

  • Myelosuppression (decrease of production of blood cells),
  • Bleeding which may result in death,
  • Fluid retention,
  • Congestive heart failure (shortness of breath, swelling, weight gain) accompanied in most if not all cases by fluid retention and pulmonary edema (fluid in the lung).
  • Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension (increase in blood pressure in the arteries supplying the lungs).

BEFORE you use SPRYCEL talk to your doctor or pharmacist if you:

  • are pregnant or planning to become pregnant. SPRYCEL can harm the fetus when given to a pregnant woman. Women should not become pregnant while undergoing treatment with SPRYCEL.
  • are breast-feeding.  Do not breast-feed if you are taking SPRYCEL.
  • are a sexually active male or female.  Men and women who take SPRYCEL are advised to use highly effective contraception.
  • have a liver problem.
  • have a heart problem, such as arrhythmia, long QT syndrome (a hereditary disorder of the heart electrical rhythm).
  • have ever had or might now have a hepatitis B infection (an infection of the liver). This is because SPRYCEL could cause the hepatitis B virus to become active again, which can be fatal in some cases. Your doctor will check for signs of this infection before treatment with SPRYCEL is started. If the hepatitis B virus is found, you will be monitored closely during and for several months after treatment with SPRYCEL
  • are lactose intolerant or have been diagnosed with an intolerance to some sugars.
  • are taking medicines to thin the blood or prevent clots. SPRYCEL may cause bleeding.

Talk to you doctor or pharmacist if you have:

  • muscle aches/pains or weakness, or dark-colored urine

Interactions with this medication

SPRYCEL may interact with other drugs, including those you take without a prescription. You must tell your doctor or pharmacist about all drugs, including prescription and non-prescription drugs, herbal products (e.g. St. John's Wort) and supplements you are taking or planning to take before you take SPRYCEL.

  • Examples of medicines that increase the level of SPRYCEL in your bloodstream include ketoconazole, SPORANOX® (itraconazole), erythromycin, BIAXIN® (clarithromycin).
  • Examples of medicines that decrease the amount of SPRYCEL in your bloodstream include dexamethasone, phenytoin, carbamazepine, rifampicin, and phenobarbital.
  • Examples of a medicine whose blood levels might be altered by SPRYCEL include SANDIMMUNE®/NEORAL® (cyclosporine), simvastatin.

The absorption of SPRYCEL from your stomach into your bloodstream is best accomplished in the presence of stomach acid. You should avoid taking medicines that reduce stomach acid such as cimetidine, famotidine, ranitidine, or omeprazole while taking SPRYCEL. Medicines that neutralize stomach acid, such as aluminium hydroxide/magnesium hydroxide, calcium carbonate or calcium carbonate and magnesia may be taken up to 2 hours before or 2 hours after SPRYCEL.

Since SPRYCEL therapy may be associated with bleeding events, tell your doctor if you are regularly using blood thinners, including medications such as warfarin sodium or aspirin.

Proper use of this medication

Usual dose:

The usual dose for chronic phase CML is 100 mg once a day, either in the morning or in the evening.

The usual dose for accelerated or blast crisis CML or Ph+ALL is 140 mg once daily, either in the morning or in the evening.

The tablets should be swallowed whole, not crushed. They can be taken with or without food. Try to take SPRYCEL at the same time each day.

Avoid taking grape fruit juice since it may increase the blood levels of SPRYCEL.


In case of drug overdosage, contact a healthcare practitioner (e.g. doctor) hospital emergency department or regional poison control centre, even if there are no symptoms.

Missed Dose:

If you miss a dose of SPRYCEL, take your next scheduled dose at its regular time. Do not take two doses at the same time. Call your healthcare provider or pharmacist if you are not sure what to do.

Side effects and what to do about them

Most patients taking SPRYCEL will experience some mild to moderate side effects. Most side effects can be managed by your doctor through additional medications, dose adjustments, or other measures.

The following information describes the most important side effects of which you must be aware. It is not a comprehensive list of all side effects recorded in clinical trials with SPRYCEL. You should report any unusual symptoms to your doctor.

Common side effects of SPRYCEL therapy include diarrhea, fever, headache, fatigue, nausea, skin rash, shortness of breath, cough, vomiting, pain, stomach pain, infection, upper respiratory tract infection, muscle aches, joint aches, and bone and extremity pain.

Other important common side effects include:

  • Low Blood Counts: As with many leukemia drugs, therapy with SPRYCEL can be associated with low red blood cell counts (anemia), low white blood cell counts (neutropenia), and low platelet counts (thrombocytopenia). Your doctor will monitor your blood counts frequently after you start SPRYCEL, and may adjust your dose of SPRYCEL or withhold the drug temporarily in the event your blood counts drop too low, or administer additional supportive medicines to help your body regain normal blood levels. In the most severe cases, you may need to receive transfusions of red blood cells or platelets. If you develop a fever while your blood counts are depressed, you should notify your doctor immediately.
  • Bleeding: Therapy with SPRYCEL may be associated with bleeding from a variety of sources. The most serious bleeding events observed in clinical studies included bleeding from the gastrointestinal tract and, bleeding into the brain. Bleeding into the brain resulted in the death of nine patients (less than 1% of all patients in clinical trials). The serious bleeding events were associated with very low platelet counts. Less severe bleeding events included bleeding from the nose, the gums, bruising of the skin and excessive menstrual bleeding. Your doctor will monitor your blood counts regularly, but you should notify your physician immediately should you experience bleeding or easy bruising, no matter how mild.
  • Fluid Retention: Therapy with SPRYCEL may be associated with fluid building up under the skin of your lower extremities and around your eyes. In more severe cases, fluid may accumulate in the lining of your lungs, the sac around your heart, or your abdominal cavity. If you experience swelling, weight gain, or increasing shortness of breath it could be the result of fluid retention and you should report these events immediately to your doctor. Your doctor can manage fluid retention in a variety of ways while you are receiving SPRYCEL.
  • Heart Rhythm Change: SPRYCEL has the potential to induce changes in heart rhythm in susceptible individuals who have certain inherited cardiac syndromes, take medication to control heart rhythm, or are prone to low levels of potassium or magnesium in their blood. Your doctor can assess your risk by reviewing the complete list of medications that you are taking and by monitoring the potassium and magnesium levels in your blood and electrocardiogram.

Other important uncommon side effects include:

  • Liver toxicity: Liver problems such as liver inflammation and increased liver enzyme levels

Other important rare side effects include:

  • Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension (increase in blood pressure in the arteries supplying the lungs): SPRYCEL has been associated with an increase in blood pressure in the arteries supplying the lungs. Your doctor will assess your lung and heart function before and during the treatment of SPRYCEL.
  • Severe Reaction Involving Skin and Other Organs: A serious skin reaction known as Stevens-Johnson syndrome has been reported with SPRYCEL. Very rarely, severe forms of this reaction may lead to death. Serious cases of another skin reaction known as erythema multiforme have also been reported with SPRYCEL. Stop taking the drug and seek immediate medical attention if you develop any combination of fever, sore mouth or throat, and blistering and/or peeling of your skin or mucous membranes (Stevens-Johnson syndrome) or raised red or purple skin patches with itching, burning pustular eruption (erythema multiforme).

Based on ongoing monitoring after the approval of SPRYCEL, the following events have been reported: inflammation of the lungs, blood clots in the blood vessels, irregular heart rhythm, and deaths from gastrointestinal bleeding.  These events may or may not have been related to SPRYCEL

Serious side effects, how often they happen & what to do about them

Symptoms / Effects Talk with your doctor or pharmacist Stop taking drug and call your doctor or pharmacist
  Only if severe In all cases  
Common Bleeding or bruising without having an injury no matter how mild, blood in vomit, stools or urine, or black stools   x  
Common Fever, severe chills (these can be signs of infections)   x  
Common Swelling, weight gain, increasing shortness of breath, especially if this occurs after low levels of physical exertion; chest pain when taking a deep breath (these could be signs of fluid retention)   x  
Common Dizziness and/or feeling faint   x  
Common Irregular and/or forceful heart beat     x
Uncommon Symptoms of muscle aches/pains or weakness, or dark urine   x  
Uncommon Yellow skin and eyes, nausea, loss of appetite, dark-coloured urine (liver damage)   x  
Rare Shortness of breath and fatigue (these could be signs of increased blood pressure in the arteries supplying the lungs)   x  
Reported from post-marketing with unknown frequency Weight loss, fever, abdominal pain, nausea and vomiting followed by jaundice (yellowing of the skin or whites of eyes) (these could be signs of a hepatitis B infection becoming active again when you have had hepatitis B in the past)   x  
Reported from post-marketing with unknown frequency Severe Skin reaction with fever, sore mouth or throat, blistering and/or peeling of your skin or mucous membranes. “Stevens-Johnson syndrome” or raised red or purple skin patches with itching, burning pustular eruption “erythema multiforme”     x

This is not a complete list of side effects. For any unexpected effects while taking SPRYCEL, contact your doctor or pharmacist.

How to store it

SPRYCEL (dasatinib) tablets should be stored at room temperature between 15°–30° C. Keep out of the reach and sight of children.

Do not use SPRYCEL after the expiry date which is stated on the label, blister or carton after EXP.

Reporting suspected side effects

To monitor drug safety, Health Canada through the Canada Vigilance Program collects information on serious and unexpected side effects of drugs. If you suspect you have had a serious or unexpected reaction to this drug, you may notify Canada Vigilance:

By regular mail:

Canada Vigilance National Office
Marketed Health Products Safety and Effectiveness Information Bureau
Marketed Health Products Directorate Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada
Tunney’s Pasture, AL0701C
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K9

NOTE: Should you require information related to the management of the side effect, please contact your healthcare provider before notifying Canada Vigilance. The Canada Vigilance Program does not provide medical advice.

More information

This document plus the full product monograph, prepared for health professionals can be obtained by contacting the sponsor, Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada, at 1-866-463-6267.

This leaflet was prepared by Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

Last revised:  30 August 2016

* SPRYCEL is a registered trademark of Bristol-Myers Squibb Holdings Ireland used under licence by Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

Other brands listed are the trademarks of their respective owners and are not trademarks of Bristol-Myers Squibb Company.

Produits clés

PARTIE  III : RENSEIGNEMENTS DESTINÉS AU CONSOMMATEUR

PrSPRYCELMD

(dasatinib)

Télécharger la monographie de produit

Cliquez ici pour SprycelMD et l’HAP - communication au public

Cliquez ici pour pour les renseignements importants en matière d’innocuité concernant les inhibiteurs de tyrosine kinase BCR-ABL

Le présent dépliant constitue la troisième et dernière partie de la « monographie de produit » publiée par suite de l'autorisation de mise en marché de SPRYCEL au Canada, et s'adresse tout particulièrement aux patients. Le présent dépliant n'est qu'un résumé et ne donne donc pas tous les renseignements pertinents sur SPRYCEL. Pour toute question au sujet de ce médicament, communiquez avec votre médecin ou votre pharmacien.

 

Données de base sur ce médicament

Raisons de prendre ce médicament :

SPRYCEL (dasatinib) est un médicament utilisé dans le traitement  des adultes :

  • ayant récemment reçu un diagnostic de leucémie myéloïde chronique à chromosome Philadelphie positif (LMC Ph+) en phase chronique
  • souffrant d'une LMC qui ne tirent plus de bienfaits des autres traitements existants de la LMC, incluant celui par le mésylate d'imatinib (Gleevec®).
  • souffrant d'une forme particulière de leucémie lymphoblastique aiguë (LLA) à Ph+.

Effets de ce médicament :

La leucémie myéloïde chronique ou LMC est une forme de leucémie. En cas de LMC, les globules blancs myéloïdes se multiplient de façon anarchique. Des années peuvent s'écouler avant que la LMC évolue, car il s'agit d'un cancer à croissance lente ou chronique. La LMC comporte trois phases : la phase chronique, la phase accélérée et la crise blastique. Au fur et à mesure que la LMC évolue, les patients traversent ces phases.

La leucémie lymphoblastique aiguë à chromosome Philadelphie positif, ou LLA Ph+, représente une autre forme de leucémie. Les leucémies aiguës évoluent plus rapidement que les leucémies chroniques. En présence de LLA Ph+, les globules blancs lymphoblastiques se reproduisent de manière anarchique.

L'ingrédient actif de SPRYCEL est le dasatinib. Le dasatinib inhibe l'activité des protéines se trouvant à l'intérieur des cellules leucémiques des patients atteints de LMC. Ces protéines sont responsables de la croissance anarchique des cellules leucémiques.

Circonstances où il est déconseillé d'utiliser ce médicament :

  • Si vous avez des antécédents de réactions allergiques au dasatinib ou à tout autre ingrédient de SPRYCEL, consultez la section « Principaux ingrédients non médicinaux » de ce dépliant pour connaître la liste complète des ingrédients de SPRYCEL. Si vous pensez avoir manifesté une réaction allergique à l'un ou l'autre de ces ingrédients, informez-en votre médecin.
  • Si vous prenez SPRYCEL, vous ne devez pas allaiter.

SPRYCEL ne devrait pas être utilisé chez les enfants âgés de moins de deux ans.

Ingrédient médicinal :

L'ingrédient actif de SPRYCEL est le dasatinib.

Principaux ingrédients non médicinaux :

Croscarmellose sodique, hydroxypropylcellulose, lactose monohydraté, stéarate de magnésium et cellulose microcristalline. L'enrobage du comprimé est constitué d'hypromellose, de dioxyde de titane et de polyéthylèneglycol.

Présentation :

SPRYCEL (dasatinib) est présenté sous forme de comprimés enrobés pour administration par voie orale dans des teneurs de 20, de 50, de 70, de 80, de 100 et de 140 mg de dasatinib sous forme de dasatinib monohydraté.

Mises en garde et précautions

Mises en garde et précautions importantes

SPRYCEL devrait être administré sous la supervision d'un médecin expérimenté dans l'administration des médicaments antinéoplasiques. Les effets secondaires graves et courants entraînés par SPRYCEL incluent :

  • l'aplasie médullaire (diminution de la production de globules sanguins),
  • l'hémorragie pouvant mener à la mort,
  • la rétention liquidienne,
  • l'insuffisance cardiaque congestive (essoufflements, enflure, gain de poids), accompagnée dans la plupart des cas, sinon tous, de rétention liquidienne et l'œdème pulmonaire (présence de liquide dans les poumons).
  • l’hypertension artérielle pulmonaire (augmentation de la pression sanguine dans les artères pulmonaires).

Consultez votre médecin ou votre pharmacien AVANT de prendre SPRYCEL :

  • si vous êtes enceinte ou prévoyez le devenir. SPRYCEL peut nuire au fœtus lorsqu'il est administré à une femme enceinte. Les femmes en âge de procréer ne doivent pas devenir enceintes pendant qu'elles suivent un traitement par SPRYCEL.
  • si vous allaitez. Vous ne devez pas allaiter votre enfant pendant votre traitement par SPRYCEL.
  • si vous êtes une femme ou un homme sexuellement actif. On conseille aux hommes et aux femmes qui prennent SPRYCEL d'utiliser une méthode de contraception très efficace.
  • si vous avez des problèmes hépatiques.
  • si vous avez des problèmes cardiaques tels que l'arythmie, le syndrome du QT long (une affection héréditaire du rythme électrique du cœur).
  • si vous présentiez ou si vous avez déjà présenté une infection par le virus de l'hépatite B (infection du foie). En effet, SPRYCEL peut causer une réactivation du virus de l'hépatite B, laquelle peut être mortelle dans certains cas. Votre médecin vérifiera si vous présentez des signes de cette infection avant que vous commenciez le traitement par SPRYCEL. Si le virus de l'hépatite B est détecté dans votre sang, vous ferez l'objet d'une surveillance rigoureuse tout au long du traitement par SPRYCEL et pendant plusieurs mois suivant l'arrêt de celui-ci.
  • si vous êtes intolérant au lactose ou si vous avez reçu un diagnostic d'intolérance à certains sucres.
  • si vous prenez des médicaments qui éclaircissent le sang ou qui empêchent la formation de caillots (anticoagulants). SPRYCEL peut provoquer des saignements.

Consultez votre médecin ou votre pharmacien si vous présentez :

  • des douleurs ou des faiblesses musculaires, ou des urines foncées

Interactions médicamenteuses

SPRYCEL peut interagir avec d'autres médicaments, incluant ceux que vous achetez en vente libre (sans ordonnance). Vous devez indiquer à votre médecin ou à votre pharmacien tous les médicaments vendus sur ordonnance ou non, les produits à base d'herbes médicinales (par exemple, le millepertuis) et les suppléments que vous prenez ou prévoyez prendre avant de recevoir le traitement par SPRYCEL.

  • Exemples de médicaments qui augmentent la concentration de SPRYCEL dans la circulation sanguine : kétoconazole, SPORANOX® (itraconazole), érythromycine, BIAXIN® (clarithromycine).
  • Exemples de médicaments qui diminuent la concentration de SPRYCEL dans la circulation sanguine : dexaméthasone, phénytoïne, carbamazépine, rifampicine et phénobarbital.
  • Exemple d'un médicament dont la concentration sanguine peut être modifiée par SPRYCEL : SANDIMMUNE® / NEORAL® (cyclosporine), simvastatine.

L'absorption de SPRYCEL à partir de votre estomac vers la circulation sanguine est plus efficace en présence des acides de l'estomac. Vous devriez donc éviter de prendre des médicaments qui réduisent l'acidité gastrique, tels que la cimétidine, la famotidine, la ranitidine ou l'oméprazole pendant que vous prenez SPRYCEL. Vous pouvez prendre les médicaments qui neutralisent l'acidité gastrique, tels que l'hydroxyde d'aluminium ou l'hydroxyde de magnésium, le carbonate de calcium ou le carbonate de calcium avec magnésie, au moins 2 heures avant ou 2 heures après la prise de SPRYCEL.

Étant donné que le traitement par SPRYCEL peut être associé à des saignements, indiquez à votre médecin si vous prenez régulièrement des médicaments qui éclaircissent le sang, incluant la warfarine sodique ou l'aspirine.

Utilisation appropriée de ce médicament

Posologie habituelle :

La posologie habituelle pour le traitement de la LMC en phase chronique est de 100 mg, une fois par jour, administrée soit le matin, soit le soir.

La posologie habituelle pour le traitement de la LMC en phase accélérée, de la LMC en crise blastique et de la LLA Ph+ est de 140 mg, une fois par jour, administrée soit le matin, soit le soir.

Les comprimés devraient être avalés tels quels; il ne faut pas les écraser. Vous pouvez les prendre avec ou sans aliments. Essayez de prendre SPRYCEL toujours aux mêmes heures chaque jour.

Le jus de pamplemousse peut élever les concentrations sanguines de SPRYCEL, par conséquent, il faut éviter d'en boire.

Surdose :

Si vous soupçonnez un surdosage, consultez un professionnel de la santé (p.ex. médecin), le centre des urgences ou un centre anti-poisons, même en l'absence de symptômes.

Dose oubliée :

Si vous avez oublié une dose de SPRYCEL, prenez la dose suivante prévue à l'heure habituelle. Ne prenez pas deux doses au même moment. Si vous avez des doutes sur ce qu'il faut faire, communiquez avec votre médecin ou votre pharmacien.

Effets secondaires et mesures à prendre

La plupart des patients prenant SPRYCEL manifesteront certains effets secondaires légers à modérés. La plupart des effets secondaires peuvent être traités par votre médecin par l'ajout de médicaments, par des adaptations posologiques ou par d'autres mesures.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une description des effets secondaires les plus importants que vous devriez connaître. Il ne s'agit pas d'une liste exhaustive de tous les effets secondaires observés dans le cadre des études cliniques ayant porté sur SPRYCEL. Vous devriez signaler à votre médecin tout symptôme inhabituel.

Les effets secondaires courants du traitement par SPRYCEL incluent les suivants : diarrhée, fièvre, maux de tête, fatigue, nausées, rash, essoufflements, toux, vomissements, douleur, douleurs abdominales, infection, infection des voies respiratoires supérieures, douleurs musculaires, articulaires et osseuses et douleurs aux membres.

Voici d'autres effets secondaires courants importants :

  • Faible numération globulaire : Comme dans le cas de nombreux médicaments indiqués dans le traitement de la leucémie, SPRYCEL peut entraîner un faible nombre de globules rouges (anémie), de globules blancs (neutropénie) et de plaquettes (thrombocytopénie). Votre médecin mesurera fréquemment votre numération globulaire lorsque vous aurez commencé à prendre SPRYCEL; il pourra adapter la dose de SPRYCEL ou arrêter temporairement son administration si votre numération globulaire diminue trop ou vous administrer des médicaments de soutien additionnels pour que la numération revienne à la normale. Dans les cas les plus graves, vous pourriez avoir besoin de recevoir des transfusions de globules rouges ou de plaquettes. Si vous souffrez de fièvre alors que votre numération globulaire est faible, vous devriez contacter immédiatement votre médecin.
  • Saignements : Le traitement par SPRYCEL peut être associé à des saignements de différentes sources. Les saignements les plus graves observés lors d'études cliniques ont inclus des saignements provenant des voies gastro-intestinales et des cas de saignements dans le cerveau. Des cas de saignements dans le cerveau ont entraîné le décès de neuf patients (moins de 1 % de tous les patients ayant participé à des études cliniques). Les saignements graves ont été associés à des nombres très faibles de plaquettes. Les saignements moins graves ont inclus les saignements de nez, des gencives, la formation d'une ecchymose ou des règles abondantes. Votre médecin mesurera votre numération globulaire à intervalles réguliers. Toutefois, vous devriez contacter immédiatement votre médecin si vous saignez ou si vous faites facilement des ecchymoses, même si ces symptômes sont légers.
  • Rétention d'eau : Le traitement par SPRYCEL peut être associé à l'accumulation d'eau sous la peau des membres inférieurs et autour des yeux. Dans les cas plus graves, l'eau peut s'accumuler dans la paroi des poumons, la membrane qui entoure le cœur ou la cavité abdominale. Si vous êtes enflé, si vous prenez du poids ou si vous vous sentez de plus en plus essoufflé, il est possible que ce soit le résultat d'une rétention d'eau et, dans ces cas, vous devriez contacter immédiatement votre médecin. Ce dernier peut traiter la rétention d'eau de diverses façons pendant que vous recevez votre traitement par SPRYCEL.
  • Modification du rythme cardiaque : SPRYCEL peut entraîner des modifications du rythme cardiaque chez les personnes prédisposées qui ont hérité de certains syndromes cardiaques, qui prennent des médicaments pour régulariser le rythme cardiaque ou qui ont plus tendance à présenter de faibles concentrations sanguines de potassium ou de magnésium. Votre médecin peut évaluer votre risque en passant en revue la liste complète des médicaments que vous prenez et en vérifiant les  taux de potassium ou de magnésium dans votre sang et votre électrocardiogramme.

Voici d’autres effets secondaires peu courants importants :

  • Hépatotoxicité : troubles hépatiques, tels qu'inflammation du foie et augmentation des taux d'enzymes hépatiques

Voici d’autres effets secondaires rares importants :

  • Hypertension artérielle pulmonaire (augmentation de la pression sanguine dans les artères pulmonaires) : SPRYCEL a été associé à une augmentation de la pression sanguine dans les artères irriguant les poumons. Votre médecin évaluera vos fonctions cardiaque et pulmonaire avant et pendant le traitement par SPRYCEL.
  • Grave réaction touchant la peau et d'autres organes : On a signalé des cas de réaction cutanée grave, appelée syndrome de Stevens-Johnson, chez des patients traités avec SPRYCEL. Ce syndrome peut très rarement mené à la mort. On a également signalé des cas graves d'une autre réaction cutanée, appelée érythème polymorphe, chez des patients traités avec SPRYCEL. Cessez de prendre le médicament et consultez immédiatement un médecin si vous présentez toute combinaison des symptômes suivants : fièvre, douleur à la bouche ou à la gorge, cloques et/ou desquamation de la peau ou des muqueuses (syndrome de Stevens-Johnson) ou plaques de peau surélevées rouges ou pourpres, accompagnées d'une éruption pustuleuse, prurigineuse et cuisante (érythème polymorphe).

Au cours de la surveillance continue après l'approbation de SPRYCEL, les effets suivants ont été signalés : inflammation pulmonaire, caillots dans les vaisseaux sanguins, rythme cardiaque irrégulier et décès causés par une hémorragie gastro-intestinale. Ces effets pourraient être liés ou non à SPRYCEL.

Effets secondaires graves, fréquence et mesures à prendre

Symptôme / effet Consultez votre médecin ou votre pharmacien Cessez de prendre le médicament et téléphonez à votre médecin ou à votre pharmacien
  Seulement si le cas est grave Dans tous les cas  
courant Saignements ou formation d'une ecchymose sans cause de blessure, même si l'épisode est minime. Présence de sang dans les vomissures, les selles ou l'urine, ou selles noirâtres.   x  
courant Fièvre, frissons graves (signes possibles d'infection)   x  
courant Œdème, gain de poids, essoufflements accrus, particulièrement s’ils se manifestent après un effort physique peu vigoureux; douleurs thoraciques lors des respirations profondes (signes possibles de rétention liquidienne)   x  
courant Étourdissements et/ou  sensation de faiblesse   x  
courant Battements cardiaques irréguliers     x
peu courant des douleurs ou des faiblesses musculaires, ou des urines foncées   x  
peu courant Jaunissement de la peau ou du blanc des yeux, nausée, perte d’appétit, urines foncées (signes possibles de troubles du foie)   x  
rare Symptômes d'essoufflement et de fatigue (il pourrait s'agir de signes d'élévation de la pression sanguine dans les artères irriguant les poumons)   x  
Effet signalé après la commercia-lisation, fréquence inconnue Perte de poids, fièvre, douleur abdominale, nausées et vomissements suivis d'une jaunisse (jaunissement de la peau ou du blanc des yeux) (il pourrait s'agir de signes d'une réactivation du virus de l'hépatite B si vous avez déjà eu l'hépatite B dans le passé)   x  
Effet signalé après la commercia-lisation, fréquence inconnue Grave réaction cutanée accompagnée de fièvre, de douleur à la bouche ou à la gorge, de cloques et/ou de desquamation de la peau ou des muqueuses (syndrome de Stevens-Johnson) ou plaques de peau surélevées rouges ou pourpres accompagnées d'une éruption pustuleuse, prurigineuse et cuisante (érythème polymorphe)     x

Cette liste d'effets secondaires n'est pas exhaustive. Pour tout effet inattendu ressenti lors de la prise de SPRYCEL, veuillez communiquer avec votre médecin ou votre pharmacien.

Conservation

Les comprimés SPRYCEL (dasatinib) devraient être conservés à la température ambiante, entre 15 et 30 °C. Gardez le médicament hors de la portée et de la vue des enfants.

N'utilisez pas SPRYCEL après la date de péremption qui est indiquée sur l'étiquette ou sur la boîte à côté de la mention EXP.

Pour signaler des effets indésirables possibles

Pour surveiller l'innocuité des médicaments, Santé Canada, par l'intermédiaire du programme Canada Vigilance, recueille des renseignements sur les effets graves et inattendus des médicaments. Si vous croyez avoir manifesté une réaction grave ou inattendue à ce médicament, vous pouvez en informer Canada Vigilance :

Bureau national de Canada Vigilance
Division de l'information sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité des produits de santé commercialisés
Direction des produits de santé commercialisés
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada
Pré Tunney, IA : 0701C
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9

REMARQUE : Si vous désirez des renseignements sur la prise en charge de l'effet indésirable, vous devriez consulter votre médecin ou votre pharmacien avant de communiquer avec Canada Vigilance. Le programme Canada Vigilance ne prodigue pas de conseils médicaux

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Vous pouvez obtenir une copie de ce document ainsi que la monographie intégrale destinée aux professionnels de la santé en vous adressant au fabricant, Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada, au 1 866 463-6267.

Ce dépliant a été préparé par le fabricant Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

Dernière révision : 30 août 2016

* SPRYCEL est une marque déposée de Bristol-Myers Squibb Holdings Ireland, utilisée sous licence par Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

Les autres marques mentionnées sont des marques de commerce de leurs propriétaires respectifs et non pas de la société Bristol-Myers Squibb.