Public Notices

Health Canada Approves OPDIVO™ (nivolumab) for the treatment of Advanced or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma

Categories: Opdivo

OPDIVO™ is the first and only anti PD-1 immuno-oncology agent in Canada approved for the treatment of advanced or metastatic renal cell carcinoma to deliver significant overall survival Announcement marks third approval for OPDIVO™ in just over six months, in a third distinct tumour type

Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) Canada Co. today announced that Health Canada has approved OPDIVO™ (nivolumab) injection, for intravenous use, for the treatment of adult patients with a form of kidney cancer, renal cell carcinoma (RCC), who have received prior anti-angiogenic therapy in the advanced or metastatic setting.[i]


Today’s announcement marks the first and only anti PD-1 immuno-oncology agent in Canada approved for the treatment of advanced or metastatic renal cell carcinoma to deliver significant overall survival in adults with advanced or metastatic RCC versus the current standard of care (everolimus).


This marks the third approval for OPDIVO™ in three distinct tumour types in just over six months. Health Canada approved OPDIVO™ for the treatment of adult patients with locally advanced or metastatic non-small cell lung cancerwith progression on or after platinum-based chemotherapy on February 26, 2016, and for the treatment of adult patients with unresectable or metastatic BRAF V600 wild-type melanomain previously treated adultson September 25, 2015.


The OPDIVO™ melanoma, lung and RCC submissions received priority reviews after meeting the criteria of substantial evidence of clinical effectiveness providing an improved benefit/risk profile over existing therapies. As well, the phase 3 studies for the three tumour types were stopped early by an independent data monitoring committee for demonstrating superior overall survival in patients receiving OPDIVO™ versus standard of care.



RCC is the most common type of kidney cancer, with a low five-year survival rate of just 12 per cent in metastatic patients.[ii] Approximately 6,200 Canadians are diagnosed each year, and is more common in men than women.[iii]


“While the treatment landscape for RCC has improved over the last decade, long-term overall survival has remained elusive for many patients,” said Dr. Daniel Heng, medical oncologistat the Tom Baker Cancer Center and clinical associate professor at the Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary. “OPDIVO™ provides a significant survival advantage compared to a standard of care, and represents an exciting paradigm shift in the treatment of this type of cancer.”


“Immuno-oncology is a revolutionary advance in the treatment of this disease,’’ said Dr. Anil Kapoor, uro-oncologist and Professor at McMaster University, and chair of the Kidney Cancer Research Network of Canada. “OPDIVO™ is the first anti-PD-1 agent to deliver significant overall survival to patients with advanced RCC, which is an area of high unmet need. This is an exciting time for patients.”


“This is a milestone day for cancer care,” said Dr. Nawal Peacock, President and General Manager, Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada Co. “As a company, we continue to lead the way with advances in immuno-oncology with the ultimate goal of improving long term survival in a broad range of cancers. With the approvals for OPDIVO™ in melanoma, lung cancer and RCC, we are able to offer hope for more survival to more patients in Canada. Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank the patients and physicians who participated in the OPDIVO™ clinical trials.”  


As an immuno-oncology (I-O) treatment, OPDIVO™ activates the body’s own immune system to attack and kill tumours. It is not only the first and only I-O treatment (anti-PD-1 agent) to deliver significant overall survival to adult patients with advanced or metastatic RCC after prior anti-angiogenic therapy, but also to adult patients with unresectable or metastatic BRAF V600 wild-type melanoma and locally advanced or metastatic non-small cell lung cancer.i


"Advanced kidney cancer is a challenging malignancy with few durable treatment options," said Heather Chappell, Executive Director Kidney Cancer Canada. “The patient community appreciates each new treatment option as an important step forward towards longer term management of this disease."



About Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada Co.


Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada is an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, a global biopharmaceutical company whose mission is to discover, develop and deliver innovative medicines that help patients prevail over serious diseases. For more information about Bristol-Myers Squibb global operations, visit Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada has been delivering innovative medicines for serious diseases to Canadian patients in the areas of cardiovascular health, oncology, neuroscience, immunoscience and virology for over 80 years. Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada employs over 300 people across the country. For more information, please visit






For media requests please contact:



Monica Flores

Public Affairs Lead

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada


[email protected]


Aislinn Mosher

Public Affairs Manager

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

[email protected]


Fiona Buchanan

Account Supervisor

GCI Group Canada


[email protected]






Additional Information:


About CheckMate -025

The data to support Health Canada’s approval was based on CheckMate -025, an open-label, randomized Phase 3 study in which patients treated with OPDIVO™ achieved a statistically significant median overall survival (OS) of 25.0 months (95 per cent confidence interval [CI], 21.7 to not estimable) and 19.6 months (95 per cent CI, 17.6 to 23.1) with everolimus, with a 27 per cent reduction in risk of death for OPDIVO™.iThe trial randomized 821 patients to receive either OPDIVO™ 3 mg/kg intravenously every two weeks or everolimus 10 mg tablets by mouth daily until documented disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. The objective response rate was superior in the OPDIVO™ group compared with everolimus (25 per cent vs. 5 per cent; odds ratio, 5.98 [95 per cent CI, 3.68 to 9.72]; P<0.001).iThe safety profile of OPDIVO™ in CheckMate -025 was consistent with prior studies. In the study, the most frequently reported adverse drug-related adverse events (occurring at ≥ 10 percent) in patients receiving OPDIVO™ versus everolimus were fatigue (37 per cent vs. 39 per cent), rash (18 per cent vs. 31 per cent), pruritus (14 per cent vs. 10 per cent), nausea (14 per cent vs. 17 per cent), diarrhea (12 per cent vs. 21 per cent), and decreased appetite (12 per cent vs. 21 per cent).iSerious adverse drug reactions occurred in 12 per cent of patients receiving OPDIVO™ and 13 per cent of patients receiving everolimus. The most frequent serious adverse reactions reported in at least 1 per cent of patients of patients receiving OPDIVO™ were pneumonitis and diarrhea.i


The Checkmate -025 phase 3 study was stopped early in July 2015 because an assessment conducted by the independent Data Monitoring Committee concluded that the study met its primary endpoint of overall survival, demonstrating superior overall survival in patients receiving OPDIVO™ compared to the control arm.



Cancer cells may exploit “regulatory” pathways, such as checkpoint pathways, to hide from the immune system and shield the tumor from immune attack. OPDIVO™ is a PD-1 immune checkpoint inhibitor that binds to the checkpoint receptor PD-1 expressed on activated T-cells, and blocks the binding of PD-L1 and PD-L2, preventing the PD-1 pathway’s suppressive signaling on the immune system, including the interference with an anti-tumor immune response.


OPDIVO™’s broad global development program is based on Bristol-Myers Squibb’s understanding of the biology behind Immuno-Oncology. Our company is at the forefront of researching the potential of Immuno-Oncology to extend survival in hard to treat cancers. This scientific expertise serves as the basis for the OPDIVO™ development program, which includes a broad range of Phase 3 clinical trials evaluating overall survival as the primary endpoint across a variety of tumor types. To date, the OPDIVO™ clinical development program has enrolled more than 18,000 patients.


OPDIVO™ was the first PD-1 immune checkpoint inhibitor to receive regulatory approval anywhere in the world in July 2014, and currently has regulatory approval in 46 countries including the United States, Japan, and in the European Union.  In Canada, OPDIVO™ (nivolumab) is indicated for the treatment of adult patients

·         With advanced or metastatic renal cell carcinoma whohave received prior anti-angiogenic therapy,

·         With locally advanced or metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) with progression on or after chemotherapy (Patients with EGFR or ALK genomic tumour aberrations should have disease progression on a therapy for these aberrations prior to receiving OPDIVO™),

·         With unresectable or metastatic BRAF V600 wild-type melanoma who have been previously untreated.i







Bristol-Myers Squibb& Immuno-Oncology: Advancing Modern Oncology Research


At Bristol-Myers Squibb, we have a vision for the future of cancer care that is focused on Immuno-Oncology, now considered a major treatment choice alongside surgery, radiation, chemotherapy and targeted therapies for certain types of cancer.


We have a comprehensive clinical portfolio of investigational and approved Immuno-Oncology agents, many of which were discovered and developed by our scientists. Our ongoing Immuno-Oncology clinical program is looking at broad patient populations, across multiple solid tumors and hematologic malignancies, and lines of therapy and histologies, with the intent of powering our trials for overall survival and other important measures like durability of response. We pioneered the research leading to the first regulatory approval for the combination of two Immuno-Oncology agents, and continue to study the role of combinations in cancer.

We are also investigating other immune system pathways in the treatment of cancer including CTLA-4, CD-137, KIR, SLAMF7, PD-1, GITR, and LAG-3. These pathways may lead to potential new treatment options – in combination or monotherapy – to help patients fight different types of cancers.


Our collaboration with academia, as well as small and large biotech companies, to research the potential of Immuno-Oncology and non-Immuno-Oncology combinations, helps achieve our goal of providing new treatment options in clinical practice. 

At Bristol-Myers Squibb, we are committed to changing survival expectations in hard-to-treat cancers and the way patients live with cancer.



[i] Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada Co. OPDIVO™ Product Monograph. Revised: April 25, 2016

[ii] SEER Cancer Statistics Factsheets: Kidney and Renal Pelvis Cancer. National Cancer Institute. Bethesda, MD. Available at: Accessed April 6, 2015.

[iii] Canadian Cancer Society. Kidney Cancer Statistics Accessed on February 5, 2016

Back to Public Notices

Avis publics

Approbation d’OPDIVOMC (nivolumab) par Santé Canada pour le traitement de l’adénocarcinome rénal au stade avancé ou métastatique

Catégories: Opdivo

OPDIVOMC est le premier et le seul agent immuno-oncologique anti-PD-1 approuvé au Canada pour le traitement de l’adénocarcinome rénal au stade avancé ou métastatique capable de prolonger significativement la survie globale. Cette annonce marque la troisième approbation en un peu plus de six mois pour OPDIVOMC, qui est maintenant indiqué dans le traitement d’un troisième type de tumeur.

Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) Canada Co. a annoncé aujourd’hui que Santé Canada a approuvé OPDIVOMC (nivolumab pour injection) en administration intraveineuse pour le traitement de l’adénocarcinome rénal (une forme de cancer du rein) au stade avancé ou métastatique chez les adultes qui ont reçu une thérapie antiangiogénique antérieur[i].

 

L’annonce d’aujourd’hui marque l’arrivée du premier et du seul agent immuno-oncologique anti-PD-1 approuvé au Canada pour le traitement de l’adénocarcinome rénal au stade avancé ou métastatique capable de prolonger significativement la survie globale chez les adultes atteints d’un adénocarcinome rénal au stade avancé ou métastatique par rapport au traitement standard actuel (évérolimus).

 

Il s’agit de la troisième approbation en un peu plus de six mois pour OPDIVOMC, qui est maintenant indiqué dans le traitement de trois différents types de tumeurs. Santé Canada a approuvé OPDIVOMC dans le traitement du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules localement avancé ou métastatique chez les adultes dont la maladie a progressé pendant ou après une chimiothérapie à base de platine le 26 février 2016 et dans le traitement du mélanome non resécable ou  métastatique à gène BRAF V600 de type sauvage chez les adultes préalablement traités le 25 septembre 2015.

 

 

 

Les indications d’OPDIVOMC dans le traitement du mélanome, du cancer du poumon et de l’adénocarcinome rénal ont fait l’objet d’un examen prioritaire à la lumière de preuves substantielles appuyant l’efficacité clinique et établissant un profil bienfaits-risques supérieur par rapport aux traitements existants. En outre, les études de phase III portant sur les trois types de tumeurs ont été interrompues avant terme par un comité indépendant de surveillance des données, les évaluations ayant démontré une survie globale supérieure chez les patients recevant OPDIVOMC comparativement aux patients recevant le traitement standard.

L’adénocarcinome rénal, le plus fréquent des cancers du rein, est associé à un taux de survie à cinq ans de seulement 12 % chez les patients présentant des métastases[ii]. Environ 6 200 cas sont diagnostiqués au Canada chaque année, et plus d’hommes que de femmes sont touchés[iii].

 

« Au cours des 10 dernières années, les nouvelles options thérapeutiques pour le cancer du rein métastatique ont permis de prolonger significativement la survie de ces patients. OPDIVOMC possède un nouveau mode d’action qui aidera à prolonger la survie encore davantage chez une grande proportion de patients atteints de cancer du rein métastatique, affirme le Dr Denis Soulières, hématologue et oncologue médical au Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM). OPDIVOMC est un nouvel outil important à la disposition des patients et des médecins qui doivent composer avec cette maladie. »

 

« Cette journée marque une étape décisive en matière de soins anticancéreux, déclare la Dre Nawal Peacock, présidente et directrice générale de Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada. À titre d’entreprise, nous continuons d’agir comme chef de file des avancées dans le domaine de l’immuno-oncologie, dans le but ultime d’améliorer la survie à long terme associée à de nombreux types de cancers. L’approbation d’OPDIVOMC dans le traitement du mélanome, du cancer du poumon et de l’adénocarcinome rénal nous permet de donner l’espoir d’une survie prolongée à plus de patients canadiens. Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada souhaite profiter de cette occasion pour remercier sincèrement les patients et les médecins qui ont participé aux essais cliniques sur OPDIVOMC. »  

 

OPDIVOMC, un agent immuno-oncologique, active le propre système immunitaire de l’organisme pour qu’il s’attaque aux tumeurs et les détruise. Il s’agit du premier et du seul traitement immuno-oncologique (agent anti-PD-1) capable de prolonger significativement la survie globale non seulement chez les adultes atteints d’un adénocarcinome rénal au stade avancé ou métastatique qui ont reçu un traitement antiangiogénique antérieur, mais aussi chez ceux atteints d’un mélanome non resécable ou métastatique à gène BRAF V600 de type sauvage ou d’un cancer du poumon localement avancé ou métastatiqueinon à petites cellules.

 

« L’adénocarcinome rénal au stade avancé est une tumeur maligne complexe contre laquelle il existe peu d’options thérapeutiques durables, mentionne Heather Chappell, directrice générale de l’organisme Cancer du rein Canada. La communauté des patients se réjouit de l’arrivée de toute nouvelle option thérapeutique, chacune étant considérée comme une avancée importante vers une prise en charge à long terme de cette maladie. »

 

À propos de Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

 

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada est une filiale indirecte appartenant en propriété exclusive à Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, une société biopharmaceutique d’envergure mondiale dont la mission est de découvrir, de mettre au point et de fournir des médicaments novateurs ayant pour but d’aider les patients à combattre des maladies graves. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les activités de Bristol-Myers Squibb à l’échelle mondiale, visitez le site www.bms.com. Depuis plus de 80 ans, Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada offre des médicaments novateurs pour le traitement des patients canadiens atteints d’une maladie grave dans les domaines de la santé cardiovasculaire, de l’oncologie, de la neuroscience, de l’immunoscience et de la virologie. Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada compte plus de 300 employés à l’échelle du pays. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site www.bmscanada.ca.

 

– 30 –

 

 

 

 

Les représentants des médias doivent s’adresser à :

 

 

Monica Flores

Chef, Affaires publiques

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

514-333-3845  

[email protected] 

 

 

Aislinn Mosher

Gestionnaire, Affaires publiques

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada
514-333-2530  

[email protected] 

 

Lamia Charlebois

PR Consultant for GCI Group

Consultante en relations publique pour le groupe GCI

514-279-4601

[email protected]


 

Renseignements supplémentaires

 

À propos de l’étude CheckMate 025

Les données à l’appui de l’approbation par Santé Canada se fondaient sur l’étude ouverte de phase III à répartition aléatoire CheckMate 025, au cours de laquelle OPDIVOMC a été associé à une survie globale médiane statistiquement significative de 25,0 mois (intervalle de confiance [IC] à 95 %, de 21,7 à impossible à estimer), par rapport à 19,6 mois (IC à 95 %, de 17,6 à 23,1) avec l’évérolimus, ainsi qu’à une réduction du risque de décès de 27 %i.Dans le cadre de cet essai, 821 patients ont été répartis au hasard pour recevoir soit OPDIVOMC à 3 mg/kg par voie intraveineuse toutes les deux semaines, soit l’évérolimus à raison de un comprimé à 10 mg par voie orale tous les jours, jusqu’à la progression de la maladie ou l’apparition d’une toxicité inacceptable confirmées. Le taux de réponse objective a été plus élevé dans le groupe OPDIVOMC que dans le groupe évérolimus (25 % p/r à 5 %; rapport de cotes de 5,98 [IC à 95 %, de 3,68 à 9,72]; p < 0,001)i. Le profil d’innocuité d’OPDIVOMC dans l’étude CheckMate 025 correspondait à celui observé dans les études précédentes. Au cours de l’étude, les effets indésirables liés au médicament les plus fréquemment signalés (taux ≥ 10 %) chez les patients recevant OPDIVOMCpar rapport aux patients traités par l’évérolimus ont été la fatigue (37 % p/r à 39 %), rash (18 % p/r à 31 %), le prurit (14 % p/r à 10 %), les nausées (14 % p/r à 17 %), la diarrhée (12 % p/r à 21 %), et une diminution de l’appétit (12 % p/r à 21 %)i. Des effets indésirables graves sont survenus chez 12 % des patients recevant OPDIVOMC et 13 % des patients recevant l’évérolimus. Les effets indésirables graves les plus fréquents, signalés chez au moins 1 % des patients OPDIVOMC, étaient les suivants : pneumonite et diarrhéei

 

L’étude de phase III Checkmate 025 a été interrompue avant terme en juillet 2015, car une évaluation réalisée par le comité indépendant de surveillance des données a conclu que l’étude avait satisfait à son critère d’évaluation principal relativement à la survie globale, démontrant une survie globale supérieure chez les patients recevant OPDIVOMC comparativement aux patients du groupe témoin.

Au sujet d’OPDIVOMC

 

Les cellules cancéreuses peuvent exploiter des voies « régulatrices », comme les points de contrôle, afin de se cacher du système immunitaire et de protéger la tumeur d’une attaque immunitaire. OPDIVOMC est un inhibiteur du point de contrôle immunitaire PD-1 qui se lie au récepteur point de contrôle PD-1 exprimé à la surface des lymphocytes T activés, bloquant ainsi la liaison de PD-L1 et PD-L2 et empêchant l’action inhibitrice de la voie signalisation PD-1 sur le système immunitaire, notamment son interférence avec la réponse antitumorale.

 

Le vaste programme de développement d’OPDIVOMC à l’échelle mondiale repose sur la compréhension de Bristol-Myers Squibb des aspects biologiques de l’immuno-oncologie. Notre entreprise fait figure de pionnière dans la recherche sur le potentiel de l’immuno-oncologie à prolonger la survie dans les cas de cancers difficiles à traiter. Cette expertise scientifique sert de fondement au programme de développement d’OPDIVOMC qui comprend un large éventail d’essais cliniques de phase III évaluant la survie globale en tant que critère d’évaluation principal chez des patients atteints de divers types de tumeurs. À ce jour, le programme de développement clinique d’OPDIVOMC compte plus de 18 000 patients.

 

OPDIVOMC a été le premier inhibiteur du point de contrôle PD-1 au monde à recevoir une autorisation de mise sur le marché (juillet 2014); le médicament est actuellement approuvé dans 46 pays, dont les États-Unis, le Japon et les pays de l’Union européenne. Au Canada, OPDIVOMC (nivolumab) est indiqué pour le traitement :

·         de l’adénocarcinome rénal au stade avancé ou métastatique chez les adultes qui ont reçu une thérapie antiangiogénique antérieur;

·         du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules (CPNPC) localement avancé ou métastatique chez les adultes dont la maladie a progressé pendant ou après une chimiothérapie (les patients porteurs d’aberrations génomiques tumorales touchant EGFR ou ALK doivent avoir présenté une progression de leur maladie pendant un traitement dirigé contre ces aberrations avant de recevoir OPDIVOMC);

·         du mélanome non résécable ou métastatique à gène BRAF V600 de type sauvage chez les adultes qui n’ont reçu aucun traitement antérieuri.

 

Bristol-Myers Squibb et l’immuno-oncologie : faire avancer la recherche moderne en oncologie

 

Chez Bristol-Myers Squibb, notre vision de l’avenir en ce qui concerne le traitement du cancer est axée sur l’immuno-oncologie, maintenant considérée comme une option thérapeutique de premier plan, au même titre que la chirurgie, la radiothérapie, la chimiothérapie et les traitements ciblés contre certains types de cancer.

 

Nous disposons d’une gamme clinique complète d’agents immuno-oncologiques expérimentaux et approuvés, dont bon nombre ont été découverts et mis au point par nos scientifiques. Notre programme clinique d’immuno-oncologie actuel est mené auprès de vastes populations de patients et porte sur de multiples tumeurs solides et cancers hématologiques ainsi que sur différentes intentions de traitement et divers types histologiques, dans le but de renforcer la puissance de nos essais relativement à la survie globale et à d’autres mesures importantes, comme la durabilité de la réponse. Nos recherches novatrices ont mené à la première autorisation de mise sur le marché d’une association de deux agents immuno-oncologiques, et nous continuons d’évaluer le rôle des associations médicamenteuses dans le traitement du cancer.

Nous explorons également d’autres voies du système immunitaire dans le traitement du cancer, y compris CTLA-4, CD-137, KIR, SLAMF7, PD-1, GITR et LAG-3. Ces voies pourraient mener à la découverte de nouvelles options de traitement – en association ou en monothérapie – pour aider les patients à combattre différents types de cancers.

 

En collaboration avec le milieu universitaire ainsi qu’avec de petites et grandes entreprises biotechnologiques, nous évaluons différentes possibilités dans le domaine des associations d’agents immuno-oncologiques et non immuno-oncologiques afin de fournir de nouvelles options thérapeutiques aux cliniciens. 

Bristol-Myers Squibb s’engage à modifier les attentes des patients atteints d’un cancer difficile à traiter en matière de survie et la façon dont ils vivent avec le cancer.

 

Références



[i]Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada Co. Monographie d’OPDIVOMC. Révisée le avril 25, 2016.

[ii]SEER Cancer Statistics Factsheets: Kidney and Renal Pelvis Cancer. National Cancer Institute. Bethesda, MD. Available at: http://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/kidrp.html. Accessed April 6, 2015.

[iii]Canadian Cancer Society. Kidney Cancer Statistics http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-type/kidney/statistics/?region=on. Accessed on February 5, 2016

Retourner aux avis publics