Public Notices


Categories: Daklinza

DAKLINZATM in combination with sofosbuvir is the first 12-week, all-oral therapy that offers SVR12 for the vast majority of non-cirrhotic genotype 3 patients

Health Canada has granted the Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada medication DAKLINZATM (daclatasvir) approval for the treatment of chronic hepatitis C (CHC) infection. The approval includes a Notice of Compliance (NOC) for the treatment of adult patients with hepatitis C genotypes 1 and 2 with compensated liver disease including cirrhosis and a Notice of Compliance with conditions (NOC/c) for the treatment of genotype 3 patients with compensated liver disease including cirrhosis, offering Canadian physicians a new option to cure* these patients. When left untreated, HCV infection, can lead to serious liver disease and failure.


The NOC/C for DAKLINZA was issued on the basis of promising evidence of clinical effectiveness of DAKLINZA in genotype 3 patients pending the submission of final clinical study results of the ALLY-3 study. This indication marks the first interferon and ribavirin-free all oral regimen for the treatment of genotype 3 patients to be approved in Canada.


“The approval of DAKLINZA in Canada is good news on many levels. On a personal note, I’m able to get on with my life today infection-free because of this treatment. To be told that you are actually cured is pretty remarkable,” said Joan King, Vice President of a hepatitis C patient group in Canada. “This is another important milestone for hepatitis C patients across genotypes. But the significance of this approval is the impact it will have on the one in five patients who have genotype 3 and are being treated but not achieving cure rates like we’re seeing with those living with other genotypes. This gives them a chance to hear the very same words that many of us are being told – you are cured.” 


DAKLINZA is a potent, pan-genotypic NS5A replication complex inhibitor (in vitro) that has been approved for use in combination with sofosbuvir (marketed in Canada by Gilead Sciences Canada Inc. as SOVALDI) as a convenient, all-oral, once-daily regimen.  

DAKLINZA is indicated as a 12-week regimen in combination with sofosbuvir for the treatment of genotype 1 and genotype 3 patients without cirrhosis making this the first ribavirin-free 12 week treatment regimen for genotype 3 patients. DAKLINZA is indicated as a 24 week regimen in genotype 2 patients and for genotype 1 and 3 patients with cirrhosis.


The Health Canada approval of DAKLINZA is supported by data from an open-label, randomized study of DAKLINZA with sofosbuvir with or without ribavirin in genotypes 1, 2, and 3, including genotype 1 patients with no response to prior protease inhibitors (telaprevir or boceprevir). Results showed that a regimen of DAKLINZA with sofosbuvir achieved SVR12** (sustained virologic response 12 weeks after the end of treatment) in 99% of treatment-naïve patients with HCV genotype 1, 100% of patients who had not achieved SVR with either telaprevir or boceprevir, 94% of treatment-naive patients with genotype 2 and 100% of treatment-naive with genotype 3 who had received the indicated dose of DAKLINZA in combination with sofosbuvir.**


In Canada, genotypes 1, 2 and 3 account for 64%, 14% and 20% of hepatitis C infections respectively.


“Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada is very pleased to contribute to the revolution of treatment outcomes for hepatitis C patients with the approval in Canada of DAKLINZA. This approval will provide an exciting new option to address an unmet need for patients with hepatitis C to benefit from therapy,” said Nawal Peacock, President and General Manager, Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.


DAKLINZA has high cure* rates and benefits hepatitis C patients most in need of additional options – patients with genotype 3, with advanced fibrosis or cirrhosis or those who have failed previous protease inhibitor therapy. Canadian patients who are prescribed DAKLINZA will be supported by the comprehensive CLAIRE Patient Support Program.


Canadian experts comment on the approval of DAKLINZA (daclatasvir)

 “Great strides have been made in the past few years in effectively curing hepatitis C in many patients thanks to new treatments.  However, there are important populations that have remained very challenging to treat - particularly those with genotype 3. The approval of daclatasvir provides us a new option for these patients. It’s an important new addition in the fight against hepatitis C.”

– Dr. Alnoor Ramji, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, University Of British Columbia, Vancouver


 “Patients with genotype 3 hepatitis C infection, which make up about one in five cases of hepatitis C infection in Canada, have proven difficult to treat with existing therapies. Having the new daclatasvir and sofosbuvir combination, which has shown very positive results in studies in this population, is a very encouraging development in moving towards the ultimate elimination of the infection in most patients.”

Dr. Paul Marotta, Medical Director of Liver Transplantation, London Health Sciences Centre and Associate Professor, University of Western Ontario, London


DAKLINZA safety information

The safety of DAKLINZA for the treatment of hepatitis C has been demonstrated in diverse patient populations, including genotypes 1-3, patients with advanced fibrosis or cirrhosis and patients who are interferon-intolerant or who have not previously responded to first-generation protease inhibitor therapy.


DAKLINZA in combination with sofosbuvir resulted in low rates of discontinuation (1%) due to adverse events (AEs).The rate of serious adverse events (SAEs) was low (7%). The most common adverse events were fatigue, headache and nausea.


Ongoing and completed DAKLINZA studies have included more than 13,000 patients in a variety of all-oral regimens. Across the clinical studies, DAKLINZA-based regimens have been generally well tolerated with low rates of discontinuation across a range of patients. 


About Hepatitis C

Hepatitis C is a virus that infects the liver and is transmitted through direct contact with infected blood and blood products. Up to 90 %of those infected with hepatitis C will not spontaneously clear the virus and will become chronically infected. According to the World Health Organization, left untreated up to 20% of people with chronic hepatitis C will develop cirrhosis; of those, up to 25% may progress to liver cancer. An estimated 350,000 to 400,000 people in Canada are chronically infected with HCV, but about 21% of those people are unaware and are undiagnosed.


About Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada is an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, a global biopharmaceutical company whose mission is to discover, develop and deliver innovative medicines that help patients prevail over serious diseases. For more information, please visit


*A functional cure is defined asa sustained virologic response 12 weeks after the end of treatment (SVR12).


**SVR rates excluding patients that received a 7 day lead-in with sofosbuvir monotherapy.


DAKLINZA™ is a trademark of Bristol-Myers Squibb Holdings Ireland, used under licence by Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.


SOVALDI® is a registered trademark of Gilead Sciences Ireland UC or its related companies.




For media requests please contact:


Monica Flores
Public Affairs Lead, Canada

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

[email protected]


Aislinn Mosher

Public Affairs Manager, Canada

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

[email protected]


Jean Kanan

Spectrum Advisors Communications Inc.


[email protected]

Back to Public Notices

Avis publics

APPROBATION DE DAKLINZAMC (DACLATASVIR) PAR SANTÉ CANADA POUR LE TRAITEMENT DE L'INFECTION CHRONIQUE PAR LE VIRUS DE L'HÉPATITE C DE DIFFÉRENTS GÉNOTYPES, Y COMPRIS LE GÉNOTYPE 3

Catégories: Daklinza

DAKLINZAMC en association avec le sofosbuvir est le premier traitement oral d'une durée de 12 semaines produisant une RVS12 chez la vaste majorité des patients porteurs du VHC de génotype 3 non atteints de cirrhose.

Santé Canada a approuvé DAKLINZAMC (daclatasvir) de Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada pour le traitement de l'hépatite C chronique (HCC). L'approbation comprend un avis de conformité (AC) pour le traitement des patients adultes porteurs du virus de l'hépatite C de génotype 1 ou 2 qui présentent une hépatopathie compensée, y compris une cirrhose, et un avis de conformité avec conditions (AC-C) pour le traitement des patients porteurs du virus de l'hépatite C de génotype 3 qui présentent une hépatopathie compensée, y compris une cirrhose, offrant aux médecins canadiens une nouvelle option pour guérir* ces patients. En l'absence de traitement, l’infection par le VHC peut entraîner une hépatopathie grave et une insuffisance hépatique.

 

L'AC-C pour DAKLINZA a été émis sur la base de données cliniques prometteuses sur l'efficacité clinique de ce médicament chez les patients porteurs du génotype 3, en attendant la soumission des résultats finaux de l'étude clinique ALLY-3. Cette indication fait de DAKLINZA le premier traitement à prise orale sans interféron ni ribavirine à être approuvé au Canada chez les patients porteurs du génotype 3.

 

 « L'approbation de DAKLINZA au Canada est une bonne nouvelle à plusieurs niveaux. Personnellement, ce traitement me permet aujourd'hui de vivre sans infection. Le jour, où j'ai appris que j'étais guérie, est resté gravé dans ma mémoire, raconte Joan King, vice-présidente d'un groupe de patients canadiens atteints d'hépatite C. Il s'agit d'une autre étape déterminante pour les patients infectés par le virus de l'hépatite C, quel qu'en soit le génotype. Cependant, cette approbation est particulièrement importante pour les quelque 20 % des patients porteurs du génotype 3, chez qui les traitements ne procurent pas les mêmes taux de guérison que ceux observés chez les patients porteurs des autres génotypes. Les patients infectés par le VHC de génotype 3 auront donc une chance d'entendre aussi ces mots : vous êtes guéri. » 

 

DAKLINZA est un puissant inhibiteur du complexe de réplication NS5A qui exerce une activité pangénotypique (in vitro). Il est approuvé en association avec le sofosbuvir (commercialisé au Canada par Gilead Sciences Canada Inc. sous le nom de SOVALDI) en tant que schéma pratique à prise orale uniquotidienne. 

 

DAKLINZA est indiqué comme traitement de 12 semaines en association avec le sofosbuvir chez les patients infectés par le VHC de génotype 1 ou 3 et exempts de cirrhose, ce qui en fait le premier schéma thérapeutique à prise orale sans ribavirine d'une durée de 12 semaines destiné aux patients porteurs du génotype 3. DAKLINZA est indiqué comme traitement de 24 semaines chez les patients porteurs du génotype 2 et les patients porteurs du génotype 1 ou 3 et atteints de cirrhose.

 

L'approbation de DAKLINZA par Santé Canada est fondée sur des données tirées d'une étude ouverte à répartition aléatoire portant sur DAKLINZA en association avec le sofosbuvir, avec ou sans ribavirine, chez des patients porteurs du génotype 1, 2 ou 3, dont des patients porteurs du génotype 1 n'ayant pas répondu à un traitement antérieur par un inhibiteur de la protéase (télaprévir ou bocéprévir). Les résultats ont montré que l'association DAKLINZA et sofosbuvir produit une réponse virologique soutenue 12 semaines après la fin du traitement (RSV12)** chez 99 % des patients infectés par le VHC de génotype 1 n'ayant jamais été traités, chez 100 % des patients n'ayant pas obtenu de RVS avec le télaprévir ou le bocéprévir, chez 94 % des patients porteurs du génotype 2 n'ayant jamais été traités et chez 89 % des patients porteurs du génotype 3 n'ayant jamais été traités qui ont reçu la dose indiquée de DAKLINZA en association avec le sofosbuvir**.

 

Au Canada, les génotypes 1, 2 et 3 représentent 64 %, 14 % et 20 % des cas d'hépatite C, respectivement.

 

« Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada est très heureuse de contribuer à révolutionner les résultats thérapeutiques chez les patients atteints d'hépatite C grâce à l'approbation de DAKLINZA au Canada. Cette approbation permet d'offrir une nouvelle option emballante répondant à un besoin non comblé chez les patients atteints d'hépatite C », explique Nawal Peacock, présidente et directrice générale, Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

 

DAKLINZA est associé à un taux de guérison élevé* et procure des bienfaits aux patients infectés par le virus de l'hépatite C ayant le plus besoin de nouvelles options, c'est-à-dire, les patients porteurs du génotype 3 qui présentent une fibrose avancée ou une cirrhose ou ceux qui n'ont pas répondu à un traitement antérieur par un inhibiteur de la protéase. De plus, les patients canadiens à qui l'on prescrira DAKLINZA pourront compter sur l'aide du programme CLAIRE, un programme de soutien aux patients complet.

 

 

Des experts canadiens commentent l'approbation de DAKLINZA (daclatasvir)

 « D'immenses progrès thérapeutiques ont été réalisés au cours des dernières années, ce qui a permis de guérir l'hépatite C chez de nombreux patients. Toutefois, d'importantes populations demeurent très difficiles à traiter, particulièrement celles porteuses du VHC de génotype 3. L'approbation du daclatasvir nous permet d'offrir une nouvelle option thérapeutique à ces patients. Il s'agit d'une nouvelle arme importante dans la lutte contre l'hépatite C. »

– Dr Alnoor Ramji, professeur agrégé de médecine clinique, Service de gastro-entérologie, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Vancouver

 

 « Les patients porteurs du génotype 3 du virus de l'hépatite C, responsable d'environ 20 % des cas d'hépatite C au Canada, sont difficiles à traiter au moyen des options existantes. La nouvelle association daclatasvir et sofosbuvir, qui a produit des résultats très positifs lors des études menées dans cette population, est une avancée très encourageante pour en arriver un jour à éliminer l'infection chez la plupart des patients. »

– Dr Paul Marotta, directeur médical du programme de greffe de foie, Centre des sciences de la santé de London, et professeur agrégé, Université de Western Ontario, London.

 

 

Renseignements sur l'innocuité de DAKLINZA

L'innocuité de DAKLINZA pour le traitement de l'hépatite C a été démontrée dans diverses populations de patients, y compris les patients porteurs des génotypes 1, 2 ou 3 atteints de fibrose avancée ou de cirrhose de même que les patients présentant une intolérance à l'interféron ou n'ayant pas répondu à un traitement antérieur par un inhibiteur de la protéase de première génération.

 

Les taux d'abandon observés avec l'association DAKLINZA et sofosbuvir en raison d'effets indésirables (EI) étaient faibles (1 %).Les taux d'effets indésirables graves (EIG) étaient également faibles (7 %). Les EI les plus courants étaient la fatigue, les céphalées et les nausées.

 

Les études terminées et en cours sur DAKLINZA regroupent plus de 13 000 patients recevant divers schémas thérapeutiques à prise orale. Dans l'ensemble des études cliniques, les schémas à base de DAKLINZA ont été généralement bien tolérés et les taux d’abandons ont été faibles au sein d'un éventail de patients. 

 

À propos de l’hépatite C

Le virus de l’hépatite C est un virus qui infecte le foie et qui est transmis par un contact direct avec du sang ou des produits sanguins infectés. Jusqu'à 90 % des personnes aux prises avec l'hépatite C n'arrivent pas à se débarrasser du virus et finissent par présenter une infection chronique. Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, jusqu'à 20 % des personnes atteintes d'hépatite C chronique en viennent à présenter une cirrhose; dans près de 25 % des cas, la cirrhose est susceptible d'évoluer vers un cancer du foie. Au Canada, on estime que 350 000 à 400 000 personnes présentent une infection chronique par le VHC, mais qu'environ 21 % de ces personnes n'ont pas reçu de diagnostic et ne savent donc pas qu'elles sont atteintes de la maladie.

 

À propos de Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada est une filiale indirecte appartenant en propriété exclusive à Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, une société biopharmaceutique d’envergure mondiale dont la mission est de découvrir, de mettre au point et de fournir des médicaments novateurs ayant pour but d’aider les patients à combattre des maladies graves. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site www.bmscanada.ca.

 

* Une guérison fonctionnelle est définie comme une réponse virologique soutenue 12 semaines après la fin du traitement (RVS12).

 

** Les taux de RVS excluent les patients qui ont reçu un prétraitement d'une durée de 7 jours par le sofosbuvir en monothérapie.

 

DAKLINZAMC est une marque de commerce de Bristol-Myers Squibb Holdings Ireland, utilisée sous licence par Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

 

SOVALDI® est une marque déposée de Gilead Sciences Inc. ou de ses sociétés affiliées.

 

– 30 –

 

 

Les représentants des médias doivent s’adresser à :

 

Monica Flores,
Chef, Affaires publiques, Canada

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

514 333-3845
[email protected]

 

Aislinn Mosher

Gestionnaire, Affaires publiques

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

514 333-2530  

[email protected]

 

Jean Kanan

Spectrum Conseil Communications Inc.

514 234-4095

[email protected]

 

 

.

Retourner aux avis publics