Public Notices

Health canada approves Abilify® as first atypical antipsychotic in the treatment of adolescents with schizophrenia

Categories: Abilify

One-third of people living with schizophrenia experience a psychotic episode by age 19

Health Canada has approved Abilify® (aripiprazole) for the treatment of schizophrenia in adolescents age 15 to 17, making it the first atypical antipsychotic to be specifically approved for this use in this patient population.

Schizophrenia is a serious, complex and life-altering mental illness where people experience psychosis or trouble sorting out what is real and not real. They may hear voices that aren't there or become paranoid. About one third of those living with the disease experience their first psychotic episode by age 191. Treatment is an important aspect of managing this disease and can help a young adult with schizophrenia recover to become functional and live a personally and socially satisfying life.

"Adolescence is a critical time in a person’s emotional, social and academic development,” explains Dr. Thomas Hastings, Lead Psychiatrist for the Halton Region Early Intervention in Psychosis Program. “When schizophrenia develops in adolescence the impact on these areas can be profound. We know that early, accurate, diagnosis and comprehensive and effective treatment gives people with schizophrenia the best chance for successful management of this condition. As such, today's news is very important for teens with schizophrenia, as well as their families."

In adolescents, schizophrenia can be hard to recognize and diagnose, especially in its early stages when symptoms are less pronounced. A complicating factor is that substance abuse is often present when psychotic symptoms appear and needs to be ruled out as the cause of these symptoms.

A greater proportion of males with schizophrenia are first affected in adolescence, with 39 per cent of males and 23 per cent of females having their first psychotic episode by age 192. Treatment of schizophrenia remains difficult -over 40 per cent of sufferers stop taking their medication within the first year3.

Louise’s story

“Growing up was very difficult for me,” explained Louise, a 29-year-old Canadian who currently uses Abilify, and whose name has been changed to respect her privacy. “I was diagnosed with adolescent schizophrenia 14 years ago and my prognosis was bleak. I was told I would never work, finish school or have a normal life.”

Louise was hospitalized 13 times for her condition, her shortest hospital visit lasting three weeks and the longest six months. She was put on an anti-psychotic drug resulting in her being “stable enough to be home, but not a productive member of society.”

In 2008, she started treatment with Abilify through a special access program and began feeling better after only a few weeks. “Since my diagnosis, I had heard voices every minute, and then within two months the voices were gone. I’ve also lost 80 pounds since starting Abilify, and I don’t sleep 15 hours a day anymore.”

Louise’s condition over the past three years has improved to the point that she is now working in a shop, selling and working with customers. “I love it,” she said. “I’ve even gone back to school.” She did not want to be identified because many people who know her now don’t know about her disease and her past.

Louise is happy to have normal life and wishes the same for others living with schizophrenia. “What I want is for teenagers with schizophrenia to feel like there is hope and that they are not doomed to live ill.”

“We are very pleased that Abilify has received Health Canada approval for adolescent use,” said Chris Summerville, CEO of the Schizophrenia Society of Canada. “It is important recognition of the impact of schizophrenia on young people and we hope it will lead to greater awareness, earlier diagnosis and earlier use of effective treatment.”

About Abilify in adolescents

Abilify is the first and only medication in Canada approved to treat schizophrenia in adolescents 15 to 17 years of age. The approval is based on the results of a 6-week, double-blind randomized, placebo-controlled trial published by Findling et al (Study 31-03-239)4. This trial showed statistically significant differences with Abilify 10-mg and 30-mg compared to placebo with improvements in the mean change from baseline to endpoint on the primary efficacy measure, the Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) total score, and on other measures. Abilify treatment was generally safe and well tolerated5. It offers effective control of the symptoms of schizophrenia associated with social functioning and has been shown to have a good safety and tolerability profile. Abilify improves symptoms such as hallucinations and delusions, and positively impacts functional ability, such as a lack of motivation or social withdrawal.

About Abilify

Abilify (aripiprazole) was the first third-generation antipsychotic medication approved in Canada. It is available by prescription only. It has been approved by Health Canada for the treatment of schizophrenia and related psychotic disorders in adults and for the treatment of schizophrenia in adolescents 15 to 17 years of age. It is also indicated for the treatment of manic or mixed episodes in bipolar I disorder in adults as acute monotherapy or co-therapy with lithium or divalproex sodium when there is an insufficient acute response to these agents alone. Abilifyas co-therapy with lithium or divalproex sodium has been shown to be more effective than placebo plus mood stabilizer in maintaining clinical improvement for up to one year in adult patients with manic or mixed episodes associated with bipolar I disorder.

About Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada is an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, a global pharmaceutical and related health care products company whose mission is to extend and enhance human life. Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada is a leading provider of medicines to fight cancer, cardiovascular and metabolic disorders, infectious diseases (including HIV/AIDS), nervous system diseases and serious mental illness. Bristol-Myers Squibb Company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the BMY symbol (NYSE:BMY). Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada's operations are headquartered in Montréal, Québec.

-30-

For more information:

Sabrina Tremblay
Senior Manager, Public Affairs

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada
514-245-5257
[email protected]

Michelle Marchione
Hill & Knowlton
416-579-2043
[email protected]

Abilify®is a trademark of Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. used under license by Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

1 American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Practice parameter for the assessment and treatment of children and adolescents with schizophrenia. J Am Acad Child Adolesc Psychiatry. 2001:40(suppl 7):4S-23S.

2 American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Practice parameter for the assessment and treatment of children and adolescents with schizophrenia. J Am Acad Child Adolesc Psychiatry. 2001:40(suppl 7):4S-23S.

3 Zygmunt, A. Interventions to improve medications adherence in schizophrenia. Am J Psychiatry 159:10, October 2002.

4 Findling RL, Rob A, Nyilas M, et al. A multiple-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of oral aripiprazole for treatment of adolescents with schizophrenia. Am J Psychiatry. Sept. 2, 2008. doi: 10.1176/appi.ajp.2008.07061035.

5 Findling RL, Rob A, Nyilas M, et al. A multiple-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of oral aripiprazole for treatment of adolescents with schizophrenia. Am J Psychiatry. Sept. 2, 2008. doi: 10.1176/appi.ajp.2008.07061035.

Back to Public Notices

Avis publics

Santé canada approuve abilify® comme premier antipsychotique atypique pour le traitement de la schizophrénie chez les adolescents

Catégories: Abilify

Un tiers des gens atteints de schizophrénie vivent un épisode psychotique avant l’âge de 19 ans

Santé Canada a approuvé Abilify®(aripiprazole) pour le traitement de la schizophrénie chez les adolescents âgés de 15 à 17 ans, ce qui en fait le premier antipsychotique atypique formellement approuvé pour être utilisé chez cette catégorie de patients. Abilifya été approuvé pour la première fois en 2009 pour le traitement de la schizophrénie et du trouble bipolaire de type I chez les adultes.

La schizophrénie, une maladie mentale grave et complexe qui a des répercussions importantes sur la vie des personnes atteintes, entraîne des épisodes de psychose et une difficulté à distinguer ce qui est réel de ce qui ne l’est pas. Les gens touchés peuvent entendre des voix qui n’existent pas ou devenir paranoïaques. Environ un tiers des personnes atteintes de cette maladie vivent leur premier épisode psychotique avant l’âge de 19 ans1. Le traitement est un aspect important de la prise en charge de cette maladie et peut aider les jeunes adultes atteints de schizophrénie à se rétablir et ainsi fonctionner et avoir une vie personnelle et sociale satisfaisante.

« C’est une nouvelle très importante pour les adolescents atteints de schizophrénie et leur famille, déclare le Dr Martin Gignac de l’Institut Philippe-Pinel, un établissement affilié à l’Université de Montréal. À un moment critique de leur développement, les adolescents schizophrènes sont vulnérables aux troubles émotionnels, sociaux et scolaires. Il est donc important pour eux d’obtenir un diagnostic précis et d’avoir accès le plus rapidement possible à un traitement efficace et approuvé afin de pouvoir prendre en charge leur maladie et de soulager les symptômes difficiles ».

Chez les adolescents, la schizophrénie peut être difficile à reconnaître et à diagnostiquer, particulièrement au stade précoce, lorsque les symptômes sont moins prononcés. De plus, la présence fréquente de toxicomanie lorsque les symptômes psychotiques apparaissent représente un des facteurs aggravants, et on doit s’assurer que celle-ci n’est pas la cause des symptômes.

Dans les cas de schizophrénie, une plus grande proportion d’hommes sont touchés par la maladie dès l’adolescence. En effet, 39 % des hommes, comparativement à 23 % des femmes, vivent leur premier épisode psychotique avant l’âge de 19 ans2. Le traitement de la schizophrénie demeure difficile à suivre – plus de 40 % des personnes atteintes arrêtent de prendre leurs médicaments au cours de la première année3.

L’histoire de Louise

« Grandir a été très difficile pour moi, explique Louise, une Canadienne de 29 ans qui prend actuellement Abilify et dont le nom a été changé afin de respecter sa vie privée. J’ai reçu un diagnostic de schizophrénie à l’adolescence, à l’âge de 14 ans, et le pronostic était sombre. On m’a dit que je ne pourrais jamais travailler, finir mes études ou avoir une vie normale. »

Louise a été hospitalisée à 13 reprises en raison de sa maladie; son plus court séjour à l’hôpital ayant duré 3 semaines et son plus long, 6 mois. On lui a prescrit un antipsychotique qui a stabilisé son état – suffisamment pour qu’elle puisse demeurer à la maison, mais non pour devenir un membre productif de la société.

En 2008, elle a amorcé un traitement par Abilify grâce à un programme d’accès spécial aux médicaments et a commencé à se sentir mieux après quelques semaines à peine. « Depuis mon diagnostic, j’entendais continuellement des voix, puis, en l’espace de deux mois, les voix ont cessé. De plus, depuis que j’ai commencé à prendre Abilify, j’ai perdu 36 kg et je ne dors plus 15 heures par jour. »

Au cours des trois dernières années, l’état de Louise s’est amélioré à un point tel qu’elle travaille maintenant dans une boutique comme vendeuse auprès des clients. « J’adore ça, dit-elle. Je suis même retournée à l’école. » Elle n’a pas voulu être identifiée, car de nombreuses personnes qui la connaissent ne savent rien sur sa maladie ni sur son passé.

Louise est heureuse de vivre une vie normale et souhaite la même chose aux autres personnes atteintes de schizophrénie. « Ce que je veux, c’est que les adolescents aux prises avec la schizophrénie sachent qu’il y a de l’espoir et qu’ils ne sont pas condamnés à être malades. »

« La schizophrénie a un impact majeur sur les adolescents, qui en sont à une étape importante de leur développement. Nous croyons qu'une meilleure sensibilisation, un diagnostic plus précoce et l'utilisation de traitements efficaces sont des éléments déterminants pour les jeunes touchés par ce trouble, affirme Mme Odette Beaudoin, présidente de la Société québécoise de la schizophrénie. C’est pourquoi nous sommes ravis qu'Abilify soit maintenant approuvé comme option de traitement pour ces patients. »

À propos d’Abilify chez les adolescents

Abilify est le premier et le seul médicament approuvé au Canada pour le traitement de la schizophrénie chez les adolescents âgés de 15 à 17 ans. L’approbation est fondée sur les résultats d’une étude de 6 semaines, contrôlée par placebo, à répartition aléatoire et à double insu, qui ont été publiés par Findling et ses collaborateurs (étude 31-03-239)4. Lors de cette étude comparant Abilify à 10 mg et à 30 mg à un placebo, on a montré qu’il y avait une amélioration statistiquement significative de la variation moyenne, entre le début et la fin de l’étude, de la principale mesure d’efficacité, du score total à l’échelle PANSS (Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale) et d’autres mesures. Abilify a été généralement sûr et bien toléré5. Il offre une maîtrise efficace des symptômes de la schizophrénie associés au fonctionnement social, et les données montrent qu’il a un bon profil de tolérabilité et d’innocuité. Abilify réduit les symptômes, tels que les hallucinations et les délires, et a des répercussions positives sur la capacité fonctionnelle, entre autres sur le manque de motivation ou le retrait social.

À propos d’Abilify

Abilify (aripiprazole) a été le premier antipsychotique de troisième génération approuvé au Canada. Il est offert sur ordonnance seulement. Il a été approuvé par Santé Canada pour le traitement de la schizophrénie et des troubles psychotiques connexes chez les adultes et pour le traitement de la schizophrénie chez les adolescents âgés de 15 à 17 ans. Il est également indiqué pour le traitement d’urgence des épisodes maniaques ou mixtes du trouble bipolaire de type I chez l’adulte, en monothérapie ou en association avec le lithium ou le divalproex sodique lorsqu’il n’y a pas de réponse immédiate suffisante à ces agents employés seuls. Abilify, à titre de traitement d’appoint au lithium ou au divalproex sodique, s’est révélé plus efficace que le placebo en association avec un stabilisateur de l’humeur pour maintenir l’amélioration clinique durant une période pouvant atteindre 1 an chez des patients adultes qui présentent des épisodes maniaques ou mixtes associés au trouble bipolaire de type I.

À propos de Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada est une filiale indirecte détenue en propriété exclusive de Bristol-Myers Squibb, une société d’envergure mondiale spécialisée dans les produits pharmaceutiques et les produits de santé connexes et dont la mission est de prolonger et d’améliorer la vie humaine. Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada est un chef de file dans la fabrication de médicaments contre le cancer, les troubles cardiovasculaires et métaboliques, les maladies infectieuses (dont le VIH/sida), les maladies du système nerveux et les maladies mentales graves. Bristol-Myers Squibb Company est inscrite à la bourse de New York sous le symbole BMY (NYSE:BMY). Le siège social de Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada est à Montréal, au Québec.

– 30 –

Personne-ressource :

Sabrina Tremblay
Gestionnaire principale, affaires publiques

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada
514-245-5257
[email protected]

Sarah Moreau
HKDP
514-395-0375 poste 234
[email protected]

Abilify® est une marque déposée d’Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. utilisée sous licence par Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada.

Références

1 American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Practice parameter for the assessment and treatment of children and adolescents with schizophrenia. J Am Acad Child Adolesc Psychiatry. 2001:40(suppl 7):4S-23S.

2 American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Practice parameter for the assessment and treatment of children and adolescents with schizophrenia. J Am Acad Child Adolesc Psychiatry. 2001:40(suppl 7):4S-23S.

3 Zygmunt, A. Interventions to improve medications adherence in schizophrenia. Am J Psychiatry 159:10, October 2002.

4 Findling RL, Rob A, Nyilas M, et al. A multiple-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of oral aripiprazole for treatment of adolescents with schizophrenia. Am J Psychiatry. Sept. 2, 2008. doi: 10.1176/appi.ajp.2008.07061035.

5 Findling RL, Rob A, Nyilas M, et al. A multiple-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of oral aripiprazole for treatment of adolescents with schizophrenia. Am J Psychiatry. Sept. 2, 2008. doi: 10.1176/appi.ajp.2008.07061035.

Retourner aux avis publics