A little history of a big company

Bristol-Myers Squibb first established roots in Canada 90 years ago with the incorporation of E.R. Squibb & Sons in 1925. Bristol-Myers Canada expanded its activities through the acquisition of Squibb & Sons in 1989, and DuPont Pharmaceuticals in 2001.

Our company has a strong legacy of innovation that began in New York in 1858 when Edward R. Squibb, M.D., founded a pharmaceutical company in Brooklyn, and in 1887 when two friends, William McLaren Bristol and John Ripley Myers purchased a struggling drug manufacturing firm in Clinton. Together, they laid the foundation for our company today — a global BioPharma leader that continues this legacy of innovation.

U.S. & International Milestones


Dr. Edward Robinson Squibb (1819-1900), an American Navy physician, founds Squibb Corporation in New York and develops the first reliable ether for anaesthesia.


Bristol-Myers is founded in 1887 when William McLaren Bristol and John Ripley Myers buy the Clinton Pharmaceutical Company in New York State. They built it into a successful company by developing a series of innovative products including Bufferin, the first of the buffered aspirins.


Dr. Edward Robinson Squibb retires and passes most of the responsibility for managing the firm to his sons, Charles and Edward. Squibb Corporation is known for decades afterwards as E. R. Squibb and Sons.


From 1903 to 1905, Bristol-Myers Company's sales grow tenfold. The runaway success of this period is Ipana toothpaste, the first toothpaste to include disinfectant in its formula and thus help prevent bleeding gums. Another important product is Sal Hepatica, the company's first nationally recognized product: a laxative mineral salt which, when dissolved in water, reproduced the taste and effects of the natural mineral waters of Bohemia. These products bring this regional company to national and international prominence.


The Squibb Institute for Medical Research is established in New Brunswick, New Jersey. The institute makes great advances for the pharmaceutical world, especially regarding antibiotics.


With the acquisition of Cheplin Laboratories, a New York manufacturer of acidophilus milk, Bristol-Myers Company again becomes a producer of pharmaceutical products. Cheplin, which has expertise in fermentation techniques, becomes a key supplier of penicillin for the Allied armed forces.


The Squibb Institute for Medical Research opens the largest penicillin production plant in the world in New Brunswick, New Jersey.


E.R. Squibb & Sons markets the world’s first electronic toothbrush. Most future automatic toothbrushes are essentially imitations of the original Squibb model invented by Professor Philippe G. Woog.


Squibb researchers create CAPOTEN® (captopril); the first in a new class of high blood pressure agents called ACE (angiotensin-converting enzyme) inhibitors.


Bristol-Myers Company merges with the Squibb Corporation, creating Bristol-Myers Squibb, a world leader in the healthcare industry. The merger creates what was then the world's second-largest pharmaceutical company.


The Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Research Institute is established with headquarters in Princeton, New Jersey, and research facilities in Wallingford, Connecticut, as well as other sites around the world.


Bristol-Myers Squibb Company joins Sterling Winthrop Inc. and their partner Sanofi-Synthelabo Inc. in a joint venture partnership for the development and marketing of two promising compounds, Plavix® and Avapro/Avalide®.


President Bill Clinton awards the National Medal of Technology – America’s highest honour for technological innovation – to Bristol-Myers Squibb “for extending and enhancing human life through innovative pharmaceutical research and development, and for redefining the science of clinical study through groundbreaking and hugely complex clinical trials that are recognized models in the industry.”


Bristol-Myers Squibb Company announces SECURE THE FUTURE™, a $100-million commitment to advance HIV/AIDS research and community outreach programs in five southern African countries: South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho and Swaziland. Grants fund a variety of laboratory and research projects as well as clinical programs and many community-driven initiatives such as orphan care, home care, counseling and other services.


A new strategy is launched to sharpen the company’s focus on medicine and an aggressive external development program. This includes divestiture of its Clairol Inc. and Zimmer Inc. businesses.


Bristol-Myers Squibb is named “America’s Most Admired Pharmaceutical Company” by FORTUNE Magazine.


BMS offers HIV/AIDS drugs below cost in Africa and commits an additional $15 million – thus raising the total level of commitment to $115 million – to extend SECURE THE FUTURE™ to four Western African countries, and ensures that its patent rights to HIV/AIDS medicines do not impede access to the drugs in southern Africa.


Bristol-Myers Squibb announces new strategy to transform itself from a midcap pharmaceutical company to a next-generation BioPharma company focused on the discovery and development of innovative medicines to fight serious diseases. The company acquires Adnexus Therapeutics, developer of a new class of biologics called Adnectins™, including a Phase I oncology biologic, CT-322.


Bristol-Myers Squibb purchases Kosan Biosciences, a cancer therapeutics company based in California, and enters into collaborations with two California companies, PDL Biopharma and Exelixis, to develop promising new cancer therapies.


Bristol-Myers Squibb enters into global collaborations with ZymoGenetics,Teijin Pharma Limited and Alder Biopharmaceuticals for the development of new treatments for hepatitis C, cardiac arrhythmia and rheumatoid arthritis, respectively.


Bristol-Myers Squibb acquires the biotech company Medarex to significantly expand its pipeline in oncology and immunology.


Bristol-Myers Squibb and Allergan, Inc. announce a global agreement for the development and commercialization of an oral medication for the treatment of neuropathic pain.

Canadian Milestones


The company’s first roots are established in Canada with the incorporation of E.R. Squibb & Sons of Canada Limited, with headquarters in Toronto.


Construction starts on new Canadian manufacturing plant and headquarters of E.R. Squibb & Sons of Canada Limited in Ville St-Laurent, Quebec, where the company remains located for the next 57 years.


With the acquisition of DuPont, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company adds to its HIV portfolio an antiretroviral agent launched in Canada in 1999, Sustiva® (efavirenz) Capsules, and also gains Cardiolite® (kit for the preparation of Technetium Tc99m Sestamibi for Injection), a medical imaging agent available on the Canadian market since 1990.


Reyataz® (atazanavir sulfate), the first protease inhibitor for the treatment of HIV/AIDS with once-a day dosing, is launched in Canada in January.


Health Canada approves the colorectal cancer treatment ERBITUX® (cetuximab), co-developed with ImClone Systems Incorporated.


Health Canada approves Orencia™ (abatacept) for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis as well as Baraclude® (entecavir) for the treatment of chronic hepatitis B infection.


Health Canada approves Sprycel™ (dasatinib) for the treatment of chronic myeloid leukemia, and Atripla®, the first once-daily single tablet regimen to treat HIV infection, combining three separate medications.


Health Canada approves Abilify® (aripiprazole) for the treatment of schizophrenia, and Onglyza™ (saxagliptin) for the treatment of type 2 diabetes.


The headquarters of Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada moves to its current facilities in the Technoparc of Ville St-Laurent, Quebec.


Abilify® (aripiprazole) receives additional approval from Health Canada as an add-on treatment to antidepressants for the treatment of major depressive disorder (MDD).


YERVOY® (ipilimumab) is awarded the Prix Galien Canada 2013 recognizing the drug’s significant impact in treating advanced melanoma.


Health Canada approves cancer immunotherapy Yervoy ™(ipilimumab)as a first-line therapy in adults with unresectable or metastatic melanoma, the most deadly form of skin cancer.


Health Canada approves DAKLINZATM (daclatasvir) for the treatment of chronic hepatitis C infection across multiple genotypes, including genotype 3.


Commercialization, manufacturing and operational rights for Erbitux® (cetuximab) in Canada, and Puerto Rico are transferred from Bristol-Myers Squibb to Lilly.


Health Canada approves Opdivo™ (nivolumab) for the treatment of metastatic melanoma. Opdivo is the first anti PD-1 (programmed death-1) approved to treat previously untreated cases of BRAF V600 wild-type unresectable or metastatic melanoma in adults.

Notre Histoire

La petite histoire d'une grande entreprise

Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada (BMS) a d'abord établi ses racines au Canada il y a 90 ans, avec l'incorporation d'E.R. Squibb en 1925. BMS a ensuite élargi ses activités en acquérant Squibb & Sons en 1989, puis Dupont Pharmaceuticals en 2001.

Notre entreprise s'appuie sur un solide héritage d'innovation, qui a commencé à New York en 1858 lorsque Edward R. Squibb, M.D. a fondé une société pharmaceutique à Brooklyn et en 1887 lorsque deux amis, William McLaren Bristol et John Ripley Myers, ont acheté une entreprise de fabrication de médicaments en difficulté à Clinton. Ensemble, ils ont jeté les bases de notre entreprise d'aujourd'hui : un chef de file biopharmaceutique mondial qui perpétue cet héritage d'innovation.

Points marquants pour les États-Unis et à l'échelle internationale

1858

Le Dr Edward Robinson Squibb (1819-1900), un physicien de la marine des États-Unis, fonde la compagnie Squibb, à New York, et met au point le premier éther permettant une anesthésie sans danger.

1887

Bristol-Myers est fondée en 1887 lorsque William McLaren Bristol et John Ripley Myers achètent la Clinton Pharmaceutical Company dans l'État de New York. Ils en font une entreprise prospère grâce à la mise au point d'une série de produits novateurs, y compris Bufferin, la première aspirine tamponnée.

1895

Le Dr Edward Robinson Squibb prend sa retraite et confie la plupart des responsabilités relatives à la gestion de l'entreprise à ses fils, Charles et Edward. Par après, la compagnie Squibb est connue pendant des décennies sous le nom de E. R. Squibb & Sons.

1903

De 1903 à 1905, les ventes de Bristol-Myers Company sont décuplées. Le succès retentissant de cette période est dû au dentifrice Ipana, le premier dentifrice dont la formule contient du désinfectant et qui aide donc à prévenir le saignement des gencives. Un autre produit important est le Sal Hepatica, le premier produit de la société reconnu à l'échelle nationale. Il s'agit d'un sel minéral laxatif qui, lorsque dissous dans l'eau, reproduit le goût et les effets des eaux minérales naturelles de la Bohême. Ces produits ont permis à cette entreprise régionale d'acquérir une renommée nationale, puis internationale.

1938

Le Squibb Institute for Medical Research est établi à New Brunswick, New Jersey. Cet institut réalise d'importantes percées dans le monde pharmaceutique, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les antibiotiques.

1943

Avec l'acquisition des Laboratoires Cheplin, un fabricant de lait acidophile de New York, Bristol-Myers Company redevient un fabricant de produits pharmaceutiques. Cheplin, qui possède de l'expertise dans les techniques de fermentation, devient un important fournisseur de pénicilline pour les forces alliées.

1944

Le Squibb Institute for Medical Research ouvre la plus importante usine de production de pénicilline au monde à New Brunswick, New Jersey.

1961

E.R. Squibb & Sons met en marché la première brosse à dents électrique. La plupart des futures brosses à dents électriques sont essentiellement des imitations du modèle original Squibb inventé par le professeur Philippe G. Woog.

1975

Les chercheurs de Squibb créent CAPOTENMD (captopril); le premier d'une nouvelle classe d'agents contre l'hypertension artérielle appelés inhibiteurs des ECA (enzymes de conversion de l'angiotensine).

1989

Bristol-Myers Company fusionne avec la compagnie Squibb, créant ainsi Bristol-Myers Squibb, un leader mondial dans l'industrie des soins de santé. La fusion crée ce qui est à l'époque la deuxième société pharmaceutique en importance au monde.

1990

L'Institut de recherche pharmaceutique Bristol-Myers Squibb est établi, et son siège social est à Princeton, New Jersey. La société possède de plus des installations de recherche à Wallingford, Connecticut, ainsi que d'autres sites dans le monde.

1993

La Société Bristol-Myers Squibb se joint à Sterling Winthrop Inc. et à son partenaire Sanofi-Synthelabo Inc. dans un partenariat de coentreprise pour le développement et la commercialisation de deux médicaments composés prometteurs, PlavixMD et Avapro/AvalideMD.

1998

Le président Bill Clinton décerne à Bristol-Myers Squibb la National Medal of Technology and Innovation – la plus haute distinction aux États-Unis en matière d'innovation technologique – « parce qu'elle contribue à prolonger et à améliorer la vie des êtres humains par l'intermédiaire de recherche et de développement novateurs dans le domaine pharmaceutique et parce qu'elle redéfinit la science de l'étude clinique par des essais cliniques novateurs et extrêmement complexes qui sont reconnus comme des modèles dans l'industrie ».

1999

La Société Bristol-Myers Squibb fait l'annonce de l'initiative SÉCURISER LE FUTURMC, un engagement de 100 millions de dollars américains ayant pour but de faire évoluer la recherche sur le VIH/sida de même que les programmes d'approche communautaire dans cinq pays de l'Afrique australe : Afrique du Sud, Botswana, Namibie, Lesotho et Swaziland. Les subventions permettent de financer divers projets de recherche et de laboratoire ainsi que des programmes cliniques et bon nombre d'initiatives menées par les collectivités, par exemple des services de soins aux orphelins, de soins à domicile et de counseling.

2000

Une nouvelle stratégie est mise sur pied dans le but de concentrer les efforts de l'entreprise sur le développement de médicaments et de lancer un ambitieux programme de développement externe. Dans le cadre de cette stratégie, la société se départit de Clairol Inc. et de Zimmer Inc.

2001

Bristol-Myers Squibb est nommée « America’s Most Admired Company » dans le domaine pharmaceutique par le magazine FORTUNE.

2001

BMS offre des médicaments contre le VIH/sida à un coût inférieur au prix coûtant en Afrique et s'engage à verser 15 millions de dollars américains additionnels – portant ainsi son engagement à 115 millions de dollars américains – pour offrir SÉCURISER LE FUTURMC dans quatre pays de l’Afrique occidentale. La société s’assure également que ses brevets sur ses médicaments contre le VIH/sida n'empêchent pas l'accès aux traitements en Afrique australe.

2007

Bristol-Myers Squibb annonce une nouvelle stratégie visant à faire passer cette société pharmaceutique à capitalisation moyenne à une société biopharmaceutique de prochaine génération axée sur la découverte et la mise au point de médicaments novateurs destinés à combattre les maladies graves. La société acquiert Adnexus Therapeutics, qui développe une nouvelle classe de produits biologiques appelés AdnectinsMC, comprenant un produit biologique d'oncologie de phase I, CT-322.

2008

Bristol-Myers Squibb acquiert Kosan Biosciences, une société développant des traitements contre le cancer basée en Californie, et entre en collaboration avec deux sociétés californiennes, PDL Biopharma et Exelixis, pour le développement de nouveaux traitements prometteurs dans la lutte contre le cancer.

2009

Bristol-Myers Squibb collabore, sur le plan international, avec ZymoGenetics, Teijin Pharma Limited et Alder Biopharmaceuticals pour la mise au point de nouveaux traitements contre l'hépatite C, l'arythmie cardiaque et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, respectivement.

2009

Bristol-Myers Squibb acquiert la société de biotechnologie Medarex afin d'élargir considérablement sa gamme de produits en oncologie et en immunologie.

2010

Bristol-Myers Squibb et Allergan, Inc. annoncent une entente mondiale pour le développement et la commercialisation d'un médicament par voie orale pour le traitement de la douleur neuropathique.

Points marquants pour le Canada

1925

L'entreprise prend racine au Canada avec la constitution en société de E.R. Squibb & Sons of Canada Limited, dont le siège social est établi à Toronto.

1952

La nouvelle usine canadienne ainsi que le siège social de E.R. Squibb & Sons of Canada Limited sont construits à Saint-Laurent (aujourd'hui Montréal), au Québec. La société demeure à cet endroit pendant 57 ans.

2001

Grâce à l'acquisition de DuPont, la Société Bristol-Myers Squibb ajoute à sa gamme de produits destinés au traitement du VIH SustivaMD (éfavirenz), un agent antirétroviral en capsules lancé au Canada en 1999, et acquiert également CardioliteMD (une trousse pour la préparation du Tc 99m-sestamibi pour injection), un agent utilisé en imagerie médicale et commercialisé au Canada depuis 1990.

2004

ReyatazMD (sulfate d'atazanavir), le premier inhibiteur de la protéase pour le traitement du VIH/sida à prendre une fois par jour, est lancé au Canada en janvier.

2005

Santé Canada approuve le traitement contre le cancer colorectal ErbituxMD (cetuximab), codéveloppé avec ImClone Systems Incorporated.

2006

Santé Canada approuve OrenciaMC (abatacept) pour le traitement de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde ainsi que BaracludeMC (entécavir) pour le traitement de l'hépatite B chronique.

2007

Santé Canada approuve SprycelMC (dasatinib) pour le traitement de la leucémie myéloïde chronique, et Atripla, le premier régime posologique à dose unique à prendre une fois par jour pour traiter l'infection par VIH et combinant trois médicaments distincts.

2009

Santé Canada approuve AbilifyMC (aripiprazole) pour le traitement de la schizophrénie, et OnglyzaMC (saxagliptin) pour le traitement du diabète de type 2.

2009

Le siège social de Bristol-Myers Squibb Canada déménage dans ses installations actuelles au Technoparc Montréal (dans l'arrondissement Saint-Laurent), au Québec.

2013

Santé Canada approuve Abilify® (aripiprazole) pour une deuxième indication, soit comme traitement d'association avec des antidépresseurs pour le traitement du trouble dépressif majeur (TDM).

2013

YERVOY® (ipilimumab) reçoit le Prix Galien Canada 2013, en reconnaissance de son impact significatif dans le traitement du mélanome au stade avancé.

2014

Santé Canada approuve YervoyMC (ipilimumab), un agent d'immunothérapie contre le cancer, comme traitement de première intention chez les adultes atteints d'un mélanome non résécable ou métastatique, la forme la plus mortelle de cancer de la peau.

2015

Santé Canada approuve DAKLINZAMC (daclatasvir) pour le traitement de l'infection chronique par le virus de l'hépatite C de différents génotypes, y compris le génotype 3.

2015

Les droits opérationnels, de fabrication et de commercialisation liés à Erbitux® (cétuximab) au Canada et à Porto Rico sont transférés de Bristol-Myers Squibb à Lilly.

2015

Santé Canada approuve OpdivoMC (nivolumab) pour le traitement du mélanome métastatique. Opdivo est le premier agent anti-PD-1 (programmed death-1 ou mort cellulaire programmée 1) approuvé pour le traitement du mélanome non résécable ou métastatique à gène BRAF V600 de type sauvage chez les adultes qui n'ont reçu aucun traitement antérieur.